- Alexander Street Press Video Collection
The Alexander Street Press Video Collection brings together thousands of videos in many disciplines. It includes thousands of complete titles (not clips) and grows by more than 400 titles each month.
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 700,000 high resolution images. It includes images of architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects, and visual and material culture more generally.
Can’t find what you’re looking for? Drowning in a flood of irrelevant information? Studying late but getting stuck? Then Morris Library’s new Ask-a-Librarian service may be exactly what you need.
Have a question? "Ask-A-Librarian" is your source for answers.
- Banned books in the McCoy Collection of the Freedom of the Press
The Ralph E. McCoy Collection of the Freedom of the Press is one of the most diverse and comprehensive research collections at Morris Library, tracing the intellectual history of the idea of freedom of expression in the English-speaking world.
- Black Studies Center
The Black Studies Center combines several resources for Black American or Africana studies. It includes information about both African American history and modern African American life.
- Browsing Room
The browsing room is in a nook off the main hallway on the first floor of Morris Library. It has books for pleasure reading. The room has leather chairs and a nice rug, to make it easier to relax there.
- C. William "Doc" Horrell Photograph Collection
The Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) in Morris Library, Southern Illinois University Carbondale (SIUC) offers digital access to the “Doc” Horrell Photo Collection. SCRC has held the work of photographer C. William "Doc" Horrell since his death in 1989. A long time faculty member in the university’s Department of Cinema and Photography, Horrell’s images of “the land between the rivers” helped strengthen and preserve the regional identity of Southern Illinois.
- CARLI Digital Collections
CARLI Digital Collections is a free online database that includes digitized primary sources contributed by academic and research libraries throughout Illinois. Now that all CARLI libraries contribute their digitized collections to one database, students and other scholars have can access these collections from home or anywhere with an internet connection.
- Chicago Tribune Historical Collection
The Chicago Tribune Historical Collection 1849-1985 is made available to the campus community by the recent and generous estate gift of Anne West Lindsey.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) contains annotations, reviews, curriculum tools, and awards, honors, and reading lists for thousands of children's books. Overall, the database contains 200,000+ critical reviews of children’s literature, ranging from baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. About 1,500 new reviews are added to the database monthly.
- Citation Counts and Journal Rankings Guide
To learn how to find even more information about how often articles and journals are cited than is listed in the Journal Citation Reports, see the library's Citation Counts and Journal Rankings guide.
- Citation Resources
There are several online citation generators available that will help you format citation or your works cited page into APA, MLA, Chicago or other citation style. Morris Library offers assistance for two tools: EndNote Web, which it gets through a library subscription and Zotero, which is a free download
Whether you need a quick answer to a simple question or want to do an in-depth, subject-specific search with all the bells and whistles--like bibliographies, and related subjects and terms for further research--Credo is an ideal starting point. Credo’s search results look similar to your favorite Internet search engine, but Credo results are authoritative and pulled from over 290 reference books that include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and guidebooks.
- Credo Music Reference
Morris Library is highlighting the four music reference sources available through Credo Reference. These resources are available online and provide searchable access to a wide variety of basic music information: The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music, The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music, The Harvard Dictionary of Music, and The New Penguin Dictionary of Music.
- Current Featured Resource
- Current National Statistical Compendiums
Current National Statistical Compendiums is a microfiche collection that reproduces statistical compendiums published by nations throughout the world. This collection provides authoritative statistical information about the social, economic, and demographic characteristics of the issuing country.
- DAWG Tags
SIUC has changed its ID numbers away from social security numbers.
- Early American Imprints
Early American Imprints is a major online collection of primary source materials for the study of United States history, culture and daily life from 1639-1819. The collection includes items on everything from agriculture to religion, from cooking to war, from advertisements to treaties. Early American Imprints contains images of the historic sources. The sources can be downloaded as PDF or TIFF images.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Although microfilm is great at preserving historical books and periodicals, it is no fun to use. For this reason, Morris Library is proud to acquire resources like Early English Books Online (EEBO), a collection containing page images of the first book published in English through the age of Shakespeare (1475-1770). Now, instead of having to visit the British Library to see early English primary sources, you can bring up high-quality images on your desktop.
- EBSCO Visual Search
EBSCOhost offers a Visual Search option powered by Grokker.
- EndNote Web
Morris Library’s subscription to Web of Knowledge now includes access to EndNote Web, an online citation management tool. EndNote Web takes the citation information that you provide and automatically formats your bibliography in the appropriate style, such as APA, MLA, Chicago, or ACS.
FDsys provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government - the legislative, executive and judicial branches of the Federal Government. About 50 different collections of official Federal Government information are available now in FDsys.
- Find Full Text (Find it Morris)
This tool from SFX creates direct links from a database citation to the full text of the article.
- Government Information Online
Get specialized assistance from Government Information Librarians from Government Information Online (GIO).
- Group Study Rooms
Rooms are now available to Southern Illinois University Carbondale students and faculty who need a quiet place to meet.
- Instant Message a Librarian
Now you can contact a librarian for help using Instant Messaging (IM), even if you’ve never used IM before!
- Instructional Materials Center
- James Joyce Collections at Morris Library
Every year, fans of James Joyce celebrate Bloomsday on June 16th, the date on which the entire plot of Joyce's epic novel Ulysses takes place. At Morris Library, we have reason to celebrate Bloomsday, as we hold one of the finest collections of Ulysses editions in the world.
- Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports Journal Citation Reports are a source for finding Journal Impact Factors and other information about journals. Journal Citation Reports provide information about when and how often a journal is cited.
- LearningExpress Library / LearnATest
Standardized Tests Looming? Practice with LearningExpress Library! LearningExpress Library is a collection of online practice tests, tutorials, and career tools. A wide range of practices exams are available.
- LexisNexis for Business Research
LexisNexis is an excellent resource for news stories, but it also is useful for company information and business research.
Morris Library's liaison program facilitates two-way communication between the library and faculty, students, and staff in all academic departments in order to provide library services that best meet each department's research, teaching, and service needs within the available resources. Specific services provided by the liaison are flexible to meet the needs of individual departments and the people in those departments.
- Literary Collections in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC)
As part of the SCRC’s extensive collection of papers of 20th century American and British writers, the handwritten and typescript manuscripts and galley sheets of prose and poetry works, correspondence, diaries, and other personal papers document and illuminate aspects of the writing and publishing process and personal lives of authors D.H. Lawrence, Henry Miller, Ernest Hemingway, Lawrence Durrell, Thornton Wilder, Joseph Conrad and others.
- Literature Online (LION)
LION contains over 350,000 literary works, ranging from 600 A.D. to current literature. Searchable full text is available for drama, prose, and poetry from every period and genre of English literature. Digitized page images are provided so that users can view images of historical materials.
- Map Library
The Map Library has more than a quarter million maps and nearly 100,000 aerial photographs to address your needs. It also holds lots of atlases and plat books and many gazetteers, as well as historical Illinois county atlases, facsimiles of early atlases, books about cartography and maps, and, yes, globes!
What do Mathematical Reviews and Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon have in common?
- Morris Library on Facebook
Are you on Facebook? So are we.
- National Geographic Archive & County/Regional Atlases Illinois
The National Geographic Magazine Archives includes access not only to every page of every issue of National Geographic magazine but also the books, maps, images, and videos from the first issue in October 1888 through the end of 1994. County & Regional Histories and Atlases Illinois covers fifteen cities and regions in 361 titles. “Originally compiled and produced by publishers and subscriptions agents for area residents and patrons, the original histories are difficult-to-find materials.”
- NAXOS Music Library and NAXOS Music Library Jazz
Stream classical, jazz and other music from Naxos and other labels to your computer with the Naxos Music Library (NML) and Naxos Music Library Jazz (NMLJ).
OneSearch allows you to search across a wide range of resources. It searches the I-Share catalog, a large portion of Morris Library’s subscribed indexes, a large portion of subscribed full text journals, freely available scholarly resources, publication information from major journal publishers including (e.g. ACM, AIP, Elsevier, Springer, Wiley, OUP, T&F, Project Muse,etc.), and millions of index-only article and book records from various sources.
OpenSIUC showcases the scholarly work produced at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. It makes the research produced here freely available on the Web.
- Oxford Encyclopedias in the Humanities
Morris Library is highlighting four encyclopedias from Oxford University Press. These unique encyclopedias are available online, providing searchable access to major reference collections in literature, theatre, and performance arts. These collections support multiple levels of inquiry. Students investigating a particular author, text or movement will find a wealth of introductory information. Advanced researchers will also be impressed by the depth and scope of the entries.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times
Looking at old newspapers can sometimes mean reeling through microfilm or gingerly handling brittle paper, but some old newspapers are available right on your computer. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times includes full-text and full-image articles and advertisements from the New York Times. Its coverage starts with the first issue and goes to three years ago. For each article, you can view just the article or view the entire page that the article appeared in.
- Reference USA
When conducting business research, finding information on private companies can be a difficult undertaking. Fortunately, Reference USA provides information on small local businesses and beyond. Reference USA, the web version of American Business Disc provides directory information for 13 million public and private businesses and organizations. Some of the data included are contact information, SIC code, the names of company executives, sales volumes, and number of employees.
- Research Guides
Save time, get help, and make writing papers super easy by using Morris Library's Research Guides.
Research Guides are a free online resource tailored to each undergraduate major at SIUC.
Morris Library's Reserves department doesn't just have textbooks. It has online course materials in electronic reserves, laptops, headphones, group study room keys, and more.
- Southern Illinois Collection at SCRC
The Special Collections Research Center’s (SCRC) Southern Illinois Collection is a unique and valuable, easily accessible resource for research into many areas of 19th and 20th century southern Illinois regional history.
- Web of Science
Citations connect one article to another. Web of Science uses those connections to bring similar articles together.
Zotero is a Firefox addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free.