American PhilosophersJohn Dewey and ColleaguesSIU Faculty CollectionsPublishing Houses, Projects and Societies
This is the "Overview of Philosophy Collections" page of the "Philosophy Collections in SCRC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy Collections in SCRC   Tags: manuscripts, philosophy, rare books, scrc, special collections  

Last Updated: Apr 12, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/philcollections Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview of Philosophy Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview of Philosophy Collections

This guide identifies manuscript collections, university records and VFMs (Vertical File Manuscripts) that are related to American and European philosophy, as well as materials for Religious Studies. The Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) of Southern Illinois University Carbondale houses a diverse body of American and European primary sources in philosophy, mostly from the Nineteenth and Twentieth centuries. These include an extensive collection of lecture notes, correspondence, literary manuscripts, book reviews, photographs, and ephemeral material as well as rare books, periodicals, academic society records, and other printed matter. For additional assistance, visit the SCRC website.

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections. It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas. More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) and through SIUCat, Morris Library's online catalog. I-Share contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in SCRC as well as books and other printed material available at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Finding aids for these sources are also available through SCRC's Web site in the finding aid database ARCHON.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in SCRC. Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. In addition, some collections have access restrictions. Researchers are encouraged to contact SCRC to insure that materials will be available. We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

If you would like to know more about the philosophy resources in Morris Library and beyond, please see the Philosophy Research Guide.

Quick Links

  • SIUC Archival Collections
    This page provides a list of the large archival collections related to American Philosophy at SIUC, with links to finding aids.
  • SIUCat
    One can search for rare books and archival collections in SIUCat. Records for archival collections contain links to finding aids.
  • Contact the SCRC
    If you have a question about the Philosophy Collections, or any other materials in the SCRC, please contact us at any time.
  • SIUC Department of Philosophy

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip