A guide to research in Philosophy.
Sarah Prindle, Humanities & Fine Arts Librarian
Morris Library Room 260C
- Philosopher's Index
The Philosopher’s Index is the world’s most current and comprehensive bibliography of scholarly research in philosophy, serving the philosophical community worldwide.
- Cambridge Histories Online
Includes 17 volumes of the Cambridge Histories of philosophy: Seventeenth Century, Nineteenth Century, Eighteenth Century, Hellenistic Philosophy, Jewish Philosophy, Later Greek and Early Medieval, Later Medieval, Medieval, Late Antiquity, Renaissance, 1870-1945, and Medical Ethics.
- Humanities International Complete
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources, including all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
"The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy."
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
All SEP entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public, and the publication evolves and adapts in response to new research.
- Oxford Scholarship Online - Philosophy
Online books published by Oxford University Press between February 2006 and January 2008 covering the discipline of philosophy.
- Loeb Classical Library
Provides more than 520 full searchable volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts from 800BCE to 1000AD. Browse by author, origin, or Loeb volumes.
- America: History and Life (EBSCO)
"The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present." Indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
- Dewey: Collected works
"This database is based on the 37-volume printed edition The Collected Works of John Dewey, 1882-1953, published by Southern Illinois University Press, 1967-1990 (edited by Jo Ann Boydston)."
- Dewey: Correspondence
: "The Correspondence of John Dewey is a comprehensive electronic edition of letters to, from, and about John Dewey. The Dewey correspondence project comprises three intertwined phases: Volume 1: 1871-1918, Volume 2: 1919-1939, and Volume 3: 1940-1953."
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
- James, William: Works
The complete electronic edition of The Works of William James.
- Oxford Scholarship Online - Classical Studies
Access online books (ebooks) published between September 2007 and January 2011 in the discipline of Classical Studies. Series include Oxford Classical Monographs, Oxford Studies in Ancient Documents, Classical Presences, Classical Culture and Society, and American Philological Association Monograph Series.
- Peirce: Collected Papers
"Peirce, Charles Sanders. Collected papers. Vols. 1-6 edited by Charles Hartshorne and Paul Weiss; vols. 7-8 edited by A. W. Burks. Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1958-1966."
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.