Last Updated: Aug 6, 2014
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-2663Send Email
- Web of Science
ISI Web of Science, an integrated Web-based platform, provides high-quality content and the tools to access, analyze, and manage research information. These tools include:Cross-product searching, Links to full text, Citation alerts, Table of contents alerts, Personal journal lists,and Personal bibliographic management.
A major database for physics, electrical engineering, and computer science Inspec provides references to journal articles and conference proceedings.
- Compendex (Engineering Village)
Compendex is a major database for engineering, including mechanics and applied physics. It has references to journal articles and conference proceedings, including items from Engineering Index back to the late 1800s.
arXiv is a free e-print service for physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. It includes both preprints of unpublished works and postprints of published works.
ADS is a free resource that indexes and provides abstracts from journals and conferences, primarily in astronomy and astrophysics as well as in general physics and engineering.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete can be used to find articles in all areas of engineering and technology. It is especially good for finding articles trade publications and popular science magazines.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts from doctoral dissertations and masters theses from many universities, mostly in North America, can be found in Dissertation and Theses Abstracts. It includes complete dissertations and theses produced by SIUC graduates in recent years.
- Google Patents
Google Patents includes the patents available in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Web site. It has patents from the 1790s up to a few months ago. Google Patents has scanned the USPTO images of patents into full-text searchable pdfs.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a free resource that searches across disciplines for materials, including published articles, unpublished preprints, theses, books, preprints, and technical reports.
PapersFirst indexes papers published in conference proceedings in many different subject areas.
- SciFinder (Web version login)
SciFinder includes the abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry. Coverage goes back to the beginning of the 20th century. It includes searching by chemical formula, structure, and reaction. First-time users need to register. See the registration information below.
- SciFinder Web Registration (for first time users)
First-time users of the SciFinder Web version need to register. Registration must be done with an email address ending in .siu.edu from an on-campus computer or from a computer connected to the university's VPN.
- USPTO Patent Database
The U.S. Patent and Trademark office's entry page to search full text and full-image patents from the United States. You must have a TIFF image viewer plug-in installed in your Web browser to view and print full image pages.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.