A guide to research in Crop, Soil, and Environmental Management.
Last Updated: Aug 6, 2014
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology
For more databases, e.g., Soil Surveys by State and SciFinder Scholar (soil chemistry), go down the page to the Also Try section.
AGRICOLA contains citations to journal articles (including Acta Horticulturae) extension documents, government reports, books, theses, audiovisual materials, and patents back to 1970. It is a service of the U.S. National Agricultural Library.
- CAB Abstracts (1990-present)
CAB Abstracts contains citations to journal articles, monographs, books, conference proceedings, etc., in all agricultural fields as well as forestry and life sciences. It includes coverage from 1990 to present.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Don't let the name fool you! Contains citations and some full text information about agronomy, soils, and other related topics.
- Environment Index
"Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus." Some coverage goes back to the 1940s."
- GeoRef (Ovid)
GEOREF contains citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and theses, about soils and other geological sciences, with coverage back to 1966.
- Academic Search Complete
General database with *some* full text. Dates of coverage vary.
- AgNIC: Agriculture Network Information Center
Search full text extension documents, agricultural experiment station documents, and other "reliable, freely-available, evaluated, digital content and quality services for agriculture, food, and natural resources information."
- American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Online Technical Library
Contains full text journal articles and technical documents published by the ASABE, including Transactions of the ASABE," Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health, Applied Engineering in Agriculture, ASABE Standards, conference proceedings, and annual meeting papers.
- Annual Reviews
The Annual Reviews site contains full-text access to many yearly life sciences reviews, including: Plant Biology; Phytopathology; Ecology, Environment and Resources, and Genetics. Dates of coverage vary.
- Arabidopsis Information Resource, The (TAIR)
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana.
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)
Contains citations to information about life sciences and biomedicine from 1968-present. In addition to topic searching, you may search by taxa, role of organism, methods, equipment, chemicals, etc. Morris Library also has the older print volumes.
BioOne contains full text bioscience research journals.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
- Entrez Cross-Database Search
Access to several molecular biology databases, including GenBank.
- Environment Index
"Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus." Some coverage goes back to the 1940s.
- Google Scholar
General search engine that includes citations to journal articles and freely available full text items. Dates of coverage vary.
JSTOR contains full text articles from *older* plant biology, aquatic sciences, biology, ecology, and environmental sciences journals. Dates of coverage vary.
- Plant Management Network
From the publisher:"Plant Management Network (PMN) is a not-for-profit, online publishing effort whose mission is to enhance the health, management, and production of agricultural and horticultural crops." It includes four peer-reviewed journals (Applied Turfgrass Science, Crop Management, Forage and Grazing Lands, & Plant Health Progress), and other resources, including "Plant Disease Management Reports," an image database, sections on specific crops, etc.
- PLANTS Database (National Resources Conservation Service, USDA)
Includes information about agricultural and horticultural plants. From the site: "The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."
- SciFinder (Web version login)
SciFinder Scholar includes information about soil chemistry, environmental changes, biochemistry and genetics. Go to this page
for registration information. Coverage: mostly 1907-present.
- Soil Surveys by State (USDA)
Links to PDF versions of soil surveys down to the county level.
TOXNET is a group of databases with citations to articles about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, pesticides, and plants from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It includes links to the ALTBIB (animal testing alternatives) and Enviro-Health databases.
- Web of Science
This collection of databases includes Web of Science, which may be used to search for cited references as well as topics. It also includes a citation manager (EndNote Web) as well as Journal Citation Reports. Covers 1985-present. Note: Web of Science is also covered by the OneSearch database back to 1989.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.