This is the "Home" page of the "PLB 401: Curation of Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PLB 401: Curation of Collections   Tags: herbaria, herbariums, plant biology, plant propagation, plb, plss  

This is a guide for students taking the Plant Biology course, Curation of Collections
Last Updated: Nov 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/plb401 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Interlibrary Loan
    If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
  • WorldCat  
      
    Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
 

I-Share @ Morris Library, the library's catalog

Some herbaria have published indexes of their collections.

1. To find them, start by using the I-Share @ Morris Library catalog

  • You may limit your search to just SIUC, or,  if you have a week to ten days, search All I-Share and request that materials be sent to the library.
  • Use the keyword, herbarium.
  • Try these subject searches:
    • Plant Collecting
    • Botanical Specimens
    • Botany  history

Search I-Share @ Morris Library

2. To find additional indexes, use the WorldCat database. Use Interlibrary Loan to get books not available via I-share.

Index Herbariorum

The Index Herbariorum is a searchable list of herbaria worldwide.

  • Index Herbariorum
    Thiers, B. [continuously updated]. Index Herbariorum: A global directory of public herbaria and associated staff. New York Botanical Garden's Virtual Herbarium. http://sweetgum.nybg.org/science/ih/.

Selected Article Databases

  • CAB Abstracts (EBSCO)
    An internationally focused database that indexes botany, biology, forestry, and agriculture journals, book chapters, and conference literature. The term, herbaria, is a standard subject heading in this database.
  • Google Scholar
    Set the preferences on your computer to enable the Find Full Text links to Morris Library subscription databases: Settings --> Library Links --> Southern Illinois University Carbondale --> Southern Illinois University Carbonale - Find Full Text @ Morris and Open WorldCat - Library Search
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR contains fulltext articles from *older* biology, ecology, environmental sciences, zoology, and aquatic sciences. Dates of coverage vary.
  • MEDLINE (EBSCO)
  • PubMed
    PubMed is the public access version of MEDLINE.

    To link to Morris Library's Find Full Text options: Go to
    My NCBI at https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/account/ . Create an account. Click on NCBI Site Preferences. Go to the PubMed Preferences section. Click on Outside tool. Find Southern Illinois University Carbondale (click on the letter S). Select Southern Illinois University Carbondale Find it
  • Web of Science  
      
    Contains biological, zoological, and general life sciences databases. Also includes MEDLINE.
 

Search Tips

1. In most cases, do not use sentences for your searches. Break you topic down into the major concepts, and use the connectors, OR and AND to connect your terms, e.g.:

The use of specimens in herbaria for the study of global warming  --> herbarium AND global warming

2. Use the database's limit to peer-reviewed journals if this option is available.

  • Peer-reviewed journal limiters may also be called Academic Journals (e.g., in CAB) or scholarly journals.
  • PubMed and Medline do not have a specific limiter for peer-reviewed articles, but you may limit to specific types of scientific studies.


3. Use synonyms and near-synonyms,  and connect these terms with OR:

Herbari* and (global warming or climate change)

4. If you find a good article for your topic, check the reference list for more sources. Use the Journals database or I-Share to see if we have the journal online or in print. Another strategy is to paste the title into the Onesearch box on the library's home page and follow the Find Full Text link on any citations. Contact me if you need help locating the full text of an article.

5. Link from subjects or descriptors found in article citations to find others.

6. Use limits, such as language, publication date, and publication type (e.g., scholarly journals or peer-reviewed journals, review articles).

7. Combine searches in Search History.

8. Use truncation symbols if available, e.g. herbari* will locate herbaria or herbarium

9. Limit to words in the title or abstract to narrow your search

CSE Resources

Systematic Biology has its own style for citations, but the Instructions to Authors refer writers to the Council of Science Editors (CSE) style manual if they have any questions. This style is used by many scientists. There are 3 ways to format citations in CSE Style: Author-Name, Citation-Sequence, and Citation-Name. Ask your instructor about which format to use. 

Morris Library has a print copy of the newest edition (8th edition) for in-library use:  

Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
Call Number: Reference T11 .S386 2014
Location: 1st Floor Information Desk

Some online resources are available below.

  • Official Scientific Style and Format Citation Quick Guide
    There are 2 tabs: one for Author-Name and one for Citation-Sequence/Citation Name
  • EndNote via Web of Science
    EndNote Web allows you to create and format online lists of references using many styles, including CSE. You may also import references from many databases. You will have to register for access (free for SIUC users). Click on the "My Tools" link at the top of the Web of Science page, then on the EndNote(TM) link. Contact me for assistance.

Natural Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Taylor
Your JavaScript is disabled.
 

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip