A guide to research in Political Science.
Last Updated: Dec 3, 2013
Search Smarter Not Harder!
- Select to search by a field (Title, Abstract, Subject, etc.)
- Never limit to Full-Text. We can get most anything via Interlibrary Loan.
- Search multiple databases from the same vendor. Example: Search EBSCO databases together
- Use date limits to get recent research
- Limit to scholarly articles
- Mine bibliographies for relevant citations in your topic
- When in doubt, talk to your librarian or professor
If Morris doesn't own a journal article you need, use Interlibrary Loan. We will borrow it from another library!
Search All 50 EBSCO databases at once with this box
Find Articles, books, journals, videos, and more with OneSearch. Please be patient while your results load.
You can search all 50 EBSCO databases at the same time with the search box above. However, keep in mind that you will be searching databases that have content that you don't need (example: Agricola is an agriculture database).
You can also search databases individually. You'll have to search non-EBSCO databases like JSTOR seperately since they are not included in the search above. Here's a list of some databases that might work for your topics.
- Academic Search Premier
(EBSCO) Mulit-disciplinary. Good for getting started on a topic.
- Business Source Complete
(EBSCO) Try this database to look for business and sales related to political issues.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
(EBSCO) Great for mass media research related to political issues.
- Communication Abstracts
Another good resource for media research related to political science.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
(EBSCO) Primarily used for articles related to education.
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
(EBSCO) Use for research on political issues in film and TV.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints in context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Multi-disciplinary databases. Articles are non-current
- LexisNexis Academic Search
Newspaper database. Searches news sources worldwide. Can also be used to search congressional sources.
(EBSCO) Psychology database. Use this if you are looking at the psychological aspects of political issues.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
(EBSCO) Suggested when researching topics related to media and social issues.
(EBSCO) Great for those of you that are looking at sports related to political issues.
Google Scholar and Morris Library
1. To Access Morris Library sources, click on Scholar Preferences.
2. In Library Links, type in Southern Illinois University Carbonale.
3. Select the box next to Find Full Text at Morris.
4. When you find a resource in Google Scholar, don't try to access it with the title!!!! Click on the Find Full Text @ Morris link.