The Difference
Primary sources: A primary source is firsthand testimony or direct evidence that is usually recorded or created during the time period of the topic under investigation.
Secondary sources: A secondary source is a work that interprets or analyzes an historical event. It is generally at least one step removed from the event, and can be recorded or created anywhere from days to centuries later.
The distinction between primary and secondary sources can be difficult to determine, but it depends generally upon the relationship of the source to the topic under investigation. For example, in researching Ernest Hemingway, the book Ernest Hemingway: An Illustrated Biography by David Sandison would be a secondary source. But in researching the literary style of David Sandison, it would be a primary source.
|
Primary Sources |
Secondary Sources |
|
|
Locating and Evaluating Primary Sources
There are a number of ways to locate and access primary sources:
- Reprinted sources published in books or collections, i.e. diaries, correspondence, speeches. (I-Share or I-Share online catalog found at www.lib.siu.edu)
- Digital library initiatives such as the Library of Congress’ American Memory Digital Library. (internet search)
- Original materials housed in archives and manuscript repositories. (internet search; published directories of archives and manuscript repositories)
The ability to determine the authenticity and research value of primary source material is a skill that needs to be developed over time. There are a number of criteria that should be considered when evaluating each source, including:
- Author/Creator: How well situated was s/he to observe or record the events in question? What was the author’s physical location? Were they an eyewitness or did they get the information from another?
- Content: What is the document about?
- Additional information: What else do you need to know in order to fully understand the document – do you need to look up names, places, dates, and/or technical terms?
- Date of creation: How soon after the event was the record created?
- Intended audience: When, how, and for whom was the record created?
- Potential biases: Is there bias, either in the report or in yourself that must be accounted for? Might the person’s social or economic position have influenced knowledge that could affect the credibility of the record?
- Authenticity: Is it original, digital, reprinted, etc.?
- Reliability: Is there corroboration?
- Is it relevant to your research?
Using Primary Sources – Resources and Strategies
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS at MORRIS LIBRARY
The Special Collections department of Morris library is a repository for both primary and secondary sources. The collecting scope includes 20th Century American and British literature, Irish Studies, American Philosophy, Theatre, the Civil War, and both SIU history and regional Southern Illinois history.
- Rare Books: Research collection of published material.
- Manuscript Collections: Non-print collections of manuscripts, correspondence, and photographic images.
- University Archives: Non-Current University records of enduring historic, legal or financial value.
BOOKS at MORRIS LIBRARY
Davidson, James West and Mark Hamilton Lytle. After the Fact: The Art of Historical Detection. New York: McGraw Hill, Inc., 1986, 1982. (Dewey Books, McLafferty Annex - 973.072 D252A1986)
Kyvig, David E. and Myron A. Marty. Nearby History: Exploring the Past Around You. Nashville, Tenn.: American Association for State & Local History, 2000, 1982. (Dewey Books, McLafferty Annex - 973.072 K99n2000)
Poulton, Helen J. The Historian's Handbook: A Descriptive Guide to Reference Works. Norman, Okla.: Univ. of Oklahoma Press, 1972. (Reference D20 .P68 1972x)
WEB PAGES
Ask A Librarian
Your JavaScript is disabled. |








Loading...
