Southern Illinois University Carbondale
American Memory — From the site: American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.”
Federal Newsmaps — From the University of North Texas, Digital Collection, newsmaps are one or two page news briefs on conditions at battlefronts during World War II, and living conditions immediately after the war. Photographs as well as maps enhance these brief narratives.
Foreign Relations of the United States— electronic facsimile — for older historic volumes, or the official State Department site for more recent ones.
Historical Census Browser — This site allows you to browse tables of census data from 1790 through 1960 by category, sort data, and create maps based on the data you select. The available categories from the Census of Population and Housing are: General Population, Ethnicity/Race/Place of Birth, Education & Literacy, Agriculture, Economy/Manufacturing/Employment, and Slave Population. The tables resulting from your selection cannot be downloaded directly in another format (i.e., spreadsheet), but tables can be printed or information copied and pasted to another document.
Historical Publications of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights — the Thurgood Marshall Law Library at the University of Maryland has made available a large digital collection of recent and historic publications of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. These documents are arranged by subject, date, alphabetically and an interesting geographic arrangement using Google Maps. The publications are in PDF format.
Illinois Digital Archives — Browse this digital collection of archival material from selected Illinois libraries. Among the types of material you can find here are photographs, ledgers, posters, and sound files from the 19th century to the present. The collection includes detailed records for each item, and a URL if a digitized item is available on another site.
Military Legal Resources — Digital collection hosted by the Library of Congress Federal Research Division, includes digital copies of historical documents such as the Nuremburg Tribunals Nazi Consipracy and Aggression, the Geneva Conventions and American Prisoners of War in Southeast Asia, 1970.
Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies in the War of the Rebellion — this documentary collection from the Civil War gathers official reports of naval operations, and correspondence, from the Union and Confederate sides of the conflict. The original print series was published by the Navy Department between 1894 and 1922. The digital series is made available from Cornell University Library as part of their Making of America project.
NARA Online Public Access — Search the National Archives huge collection of digitzed material and their record files, all from this easy single search box. An advanced search is also available.
Primary Documents in American History — The initial release of this site from the Library of Congress, covers the period from 1763 to 1877. Each entry includes a scanned image of the document, along with an extensive annotated bibliography of resources available from the Library’s own site, external websites and print resources.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States — compilation of presidential remarks, addresses, bill signings and other events. The University of Michigan hosts a digital version of the historical collection of Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, covering the administrations of Herbert Hoover and presidents from Harry Truman to the present.
U.S. Congressional Documents & Debates 1774-1875 — provides a documentary history of the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention, as well as early volumes of Statutes, House and Senate Journals and the debates of Congress. Available volumes of the debates, offered at this site, include the Congressional Record for the 43rd Congress (1873–1875) and the preceding titles: Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, and Congressional Globe.
War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies — this documentary collection from the Civil War gathers official reports of military operations, and correspondence, from both sides of the conflict. The original 128-volume print series was published by the War Department between 1880 and 1901. The digital series is made available from Cornell as part of their Making of America project.