Government Documents Collections and Services at Morris Library: American Indian

• Morris Library Research Guide: Historical Government Documents Research Resources
  

• Native American Rights Fund (NARF) http://www.narf.org/
  This site provides information about NARF activities, history, cases, newsletters, journals, links to tribal information.
  
• Native American Ethnobotany Database http://herb.umd.umich.edu/  
  "The database -- which contains 44,000 items representing the medicinal uses of 4,029 species from 243 different plant families by 291 different native American groups " can be searched by keywords.
• Native American Technology and Art http://www.nativetech.org/
  This site looks at clothing, metallurgy, pottery, and other aspects of Native American technology.
• Native Web Site Evaluation http://www.u.arizona.edu/~ecubbins/webcrit.html
  "The purpose of this Web page is to provide some guidelines useful for evaluating and identifying Web sites that contain accurate information and that are not exploitative of American Indians."
• Index of Native American Resources on the Internet http://www.hanksville.org/NAresources/
• Native American Sites http://www.nativeculturelinks.com/indians.html
• NativeWeb http://www.nativeweb.org/
• The West http://www.pbs.org/weta/thewest/
  Web page for the PBS series includes timelines, biographies, and full text primary source documents.

• Map of Indian Territory: e.g. Map of Wapanucka, Indian Territory, 1902
• Census of the First Christian and Orchard Parties of Oneida Indians, residing at Green Bay, Wisconsin Territory, taken by Henry S. Baird, U.S. Commissioner, on November 15, 1838, under provisions of the Treaty of February 3, 1838
• Letter from Lewis Cass to George Catlin Regarding Portraits of Indians
• Major General Winfield Scott’s Order No. 25 Regarding the Removal of Cherokee Indians to the West
• The Dawes Act or General Allotment Act of 1887. U.S. Statutes at Large 24:388-91
• 130 data tables “American Indian and Alaska Native Tribes for the United States, Regions, Divisions, and States (PHC-T-18)”
• Letter to Arrow (by, for and About American Indians) by Senator John F. Kennedy, 10/1/1960
• Remarks to Members of the National Congress of American Indians. 1/20/1964
• Third Annual Message by Andrew Jackson. 12/6/1831

Treaties

A compilation of all the treaties between the United States and the Indian tribes, now in force as laws. Prepared under the provisions of the act of Congress, approved March 3, 1873. Y 1.1: In2. Government Documents, 3rd Floor. https://archive.org/details/compalltreaties00washrich

Documents of American Indian diplomacy : treaties, agreements, and conventions, 1775-1979 Print: KF8202 1999 Reference. 1^st floor.

Treaties between the United States and the Indian Tribes. (1845-1867) The public statutes at large of the United States of America, Volume 7. S 7.9: 3^rd floor, Government Documents Collections. http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS52578    

List of Indian Treaties: Memorandum and Accompanying Information. [1778-1880 with References to U. S. Statutes] (1964) Y 4.In8/14:In2/11 3^rd floor, Government Documents Collections

Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties. Volume 2: Treaties Y 4.In2/2:L44 v.2 (Also in our collection as Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties. Volume 2: Treaties, I 1.107: v.2) 3^rd floor, Government Documents Collections

• Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties. Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler. Washington : Government Printing Office, 1904. Hosted by the Oklahoma State University Library.

By volumes: http://digital.library.okstate.edu/kappler/index.htm  
Volume I (Laws, Compiled to Dec. 1, 1902);Volume II (Treaties, 1778-1883);Volume III (Laws, Compiled to Dec. 1, 1913)

By tribe names, by years http://digital.library.okstate.edu/kappler/vol2/toc.htm

Other Materials

• American State Papers

American state papers. Documents, legislative and executive, of the Congress of the United States ... 1832-61. Class II. Indian Affairs. GovDocs Reference. 3^rd floor. Y1.1/2:CLASS/ Morris Library eBook https://vufind.carli.illinois.edu/vf-sic/Record/sic_2498625 Or: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwsplink.html#anchor2

• Annual Report / Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology
  Dewey Collection. Basement. 572.97 U58a. Also Morris Library eBook https://vufind.carli.illinois.edu/vf-sic/Record/sic_2312708  
• Annual Report of the Commissioner Indian Affairs, U.S. Office of Indian Affiars. 1868-. These reports provide contexual history, some statistics, and mlitary correspondence regarding the treatment of Native Americans during the 19th Century. https://vufind.carli.illinois.edu/vf-sic/Record/sic_2496157 3rd floor, Government Documents. I 20.1:
• Bulletin / Smithsonian Institution, Bureau of American Ethnology. Morris Library https://vufind.carli.illinois.edu/vf-sic/Record/sic_2321528
• A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lawhome.html
  This American Memory collection includes browseable, searchable versions of official documents from early congresses. The portions of the House and Senate Journals, Senate Executive Journal, Annals of Congress, the Congressional Serial Set, Statutes at Large, and Maclay's Journal are now online. In addition, the collection contains materials from the Continental Congress, including Journals of the Continental Congress, Elliot's Debates, and Farrand's Records. The documents are available in both image and text format. Additions include:
• Correspondence on the emigration of Indians, 1831-33
  (Forced relocations under the Removal Act of 1830--4 Stat. 411.)
• Indian Land Cessions in the United States
  This site "indicates the number and location of each cession by or reservation for the Indian tribes from the organization of the Federal Government to and including 1894, together with descriptions of the tracts so ceded or reserved, the date of the treaty, law or executive order governing the same, the name of the tribe or tribes affected thereby, and historical data and references bearing thereon." With 67 maps.
• Guide to American Indian documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899 KF8201.A1 J63 1977. 5^th floor.
• Handbook of North American Indians SI 1.20/2: 3^rd floor. Government Documents Collection.
  
• American Indian Data Tables http://www.census.gov/aian/
• Bibliography
• List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology : with Index to Authors and Titles. SCRC, 1^st floor. Non circulating. Call#: OCL4514
  Bureau of Ethnology Bulletin 200. (End of Series) This is a complete listing of Bureau of American Ethnology publications from 1877 to 1971. It includes Annual reports, Bulletins, Contributions to North American Ethnology, Publications of the Institute of Social Anthropology,and miscellaneous publications. Material included in this bibliography available in Government Information.
• Bureau of Indian Affairs (U.S. Department of the Interior) http://www.bia.gov/
  This site includes a list of Federally Recognized Tribes, statistics, reports, lists of tribal leaders, bills and laws relating to Indian affairs, and other information.
• Documents Pertaining to the Interior Board of Indian Appeals (IBIA)
• Guide to Tracing Your American Indian Ancestry
• Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible to Receive Services From the US BIA
• Tribal Leaders Directory
• Censuses of American Indians https://www.census.gov/history/www/genealogy/decennial_census_records/censuses_of_american_indians.html
• List of Federal and State Recognized Tribes http://www.ncsl.org/research/state-tribal-institute/list-of-federal-and-state-recognized-tribes.aspx  
• Genealogical Resources
• Crow Census 1885, 1900, 1910, 1930 http://lib.lbhc.edu/index.php?q=node/95
  This resource, put together by the Library at Little Big Horn College, provides name and family information.
• Tracing Indian Ancestry http://www.doi.gov/tribes/trace-ancestry.cfm
  This page from the Bureau of Indian Affairs provides information on how to conduct research and how to pursue tribal enrollment.
• Indian Health Service http://www.ihs.gov/index.cfm
  This page offers online publications such as Trends in Indian Health, Regional Differences in Indian Health, and other titles.
• National Archeological Database includes:
• Report Query for bibliographic citations of over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and planning
• Guidance on compliance with the Native American Grave Protection And Repatriation Act
• Maps displaying archaeological and environmental data at the state/country level
• National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) http://www.archives.gov
• NARA Archival Research Catalog
  The online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries. You can perform a keyword, digitized image and location search. ARC's advanced functionalities also allow you to search by organization, person, or topic.
• National Museum of the American Indian http://nmai.si.edu/home/
  This museum is "dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans. Established by an act of Congress in 1989, the museum works in collaboration with the Native peoples of the Western Hemisphere to protect and foster their cultures by reaffirming traditions and beliefs, encouraging contemporary artistic expression, and empowering the Indian voice."
• Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project http://thorpe.ou.edu/
  A cooperative project of the University of Oklahoma Law Library and the National Indian Law Library. Provides access to Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents. "Tribal constitutions and codes are the heart of self-government for over 500 federally recognized tribes, and are the lifeblood of Indian sovereignty."
• National Indian Law Library. http://www.narf.org/nill/index.htm Their catalog information about Indian Tribal Codes in their collection are available.
• Tribal Court Clearinghouse http://www.tribal-institute.org/index.htm
  This site features codes and constitutions, law review articles, overviews of legal issues, news, court opinions from the Supreme Court and tribal courts, links to Native web sites, and other information. "The Tribal Court Clearinghouse is designed as a resource for tribal justice systems and others involved in the enhancement of justice in Indian country."