Abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry. Coverage goes back to the beginning of the 20th century. Includes searching by chemical formula, structure, and reaction.
Provides access to over 170 million citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Allows cited reference searches. Tutorials available at https://www.youtube.com/user/WoSTraining.
"The USGS monitors, analyzes, and predicts current and evolving Earth-system interactions and delivers actionable information at scales and timeframes relevant to decision makers.The USGS provides science about natural hazards, natural resources, ecosystems and environmental health, and the effects of climate and land-use change."
The USGS works with partners to monitor, assess, conduct targeted research, and deliver information on a wide range of water resources and conditions including streamflow, groundwater, water quality, and water use and availability.
Toxicology Resources
ACTor (Aggregated Computational Toxicology Resource)--U.S. EPA
ACToR is now offline but the EPA states it will be updated and put back online. It was the "EPA's online warehouse of all publicly available chemical toxicity data and can be used to find all publicly available data about potential chemical risks to human health and the environment. ACToR aggregates data from over 500 public sources on over 500,000 environmental chemicals searchable by chemical name, other identifiers and by chemical structure." Contact the EPA for more information https://www.epa.gov/aboutepa/forms/contact-epa
This CDC agency website includes the Toxic Substances Portal (searchable by name or CAS Registry number), Toxicological Profiles, and ToxFAQs (for consumers). The focus is on public health hazards, including water hazards.
Request books that you can't find at Morris Library or through I-Share. Articles are usually delivered to your @siu email; books are delivered to the first floor circulation desk at Morris Library.
used in description of NEW ECONOMICS PAPERS on AGBE; in the FINDING BOOKS box on HORTICULTURE: FINDING BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF; HOW TO FIND BOOKS box on POLITICAL SCIENCE: BOOKS AND OTHER STUFF. STEP #2 on WORKFORCE ED: RESEARCH STRATEGY; RESEARCH TIPS on EDUCATION; FINDING BOOKS on FOR 409
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find a resource in WorldCat, check in the library catalog to see if Morris Library or an I-Share library own a copy. If not, try Interlibrary Loan.
Southern Illinois University Carbondale
