This is the "Resources" page of the "PSYC 211, Research Methods in Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PSYC 211, Research Methods in Psychology   Tags: psyc, psychology  

Last Updated: Aug 12, 2015 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/psyc211 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Articles

Try the following databases to find peer-reviewed articles. An article is considered peer-reviewed when it is evaluated before publication by other scholars in the same field as the author(s) to ensure it meets the standards of the publication and the discipline.

  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO searches articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and books in psychology and related subjects. PsychINFO searches more than 2500 psychology journals, so try it if you're having difficulty finding articles on a topic in Academic Search Premier or another general database. Many but not all of the citations link to the full-text articles.
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)  
      
    Academic Search Premier searches both popular magazines and academic journals in psychology and nearly every academic subject. It includes full text of many, but not all, of the articles. Academic Search Premier is a great place to begin research because it provides such broad coverage.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text  
      
    SocINDEX is useful for many areas of psychology, especially social psychology. It also covers topics such as addiction, violence, criminal justice, and marriage and family that may intersect with psychology topics.
  • MEDLINE  
      
    MEDLINE can be used to search for journal articles in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including the behavioral sciences. Most of the articles covered in MEDLINE are from scholarly journals, but it also covers some newspaper, magazine, and newsletter articles.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles avaialble across the web. An easy path to check if an author has been cited by other researchers.
 

Search I-Share @ Morris Library, the library's catalog

Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.

Search I-Share @ Morris Library

 

Where are Morris Library's psychology books?

Morris Library's psychology books are in several different areas of the library. Some of the psychology books are located in the psychology section on the 5th floor of the library with call numbers starting with BF, but there also are social psychology books located in the social sciences section with call numbers starting with HM or HQ. The library also has neuroscience and clinical psychology books located with medical books with call numbers RC321 to RC571.

Online Reference Books

Reference books are great sources of authoritative information to help choose a research paper topic, learn broad information about a subject, or look up quick facts about something without reading a book cover to cover.
  • 21st Century Psychology: a Reference Handbook
    "Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates in the field of psychology."
  • Credo Reference Psychology Books
    Credo Reference contains several dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks on psychology. Credo Reference allows searching within its books, so it's easy to locate the desired information quickly.
  • Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy
    "This three-volume work provides a thorough examination of components comprising behavior modification, behavior therapy, cognitive behavior therapy, and applied behavior analysis for both adult and child populations in a variety of settings."
  • Encyclopedia of Human Development
    A "comprehensive, authoritative, and informative reference work that presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies, and education in a way that is not too technical."
  • Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
    Contains almost 400 entries on important topics in industrial and organizational psychology. Each entry includes links to related topics and references.
  • Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
    The electronic version of a three-volume print encyclopedia, the Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics gives accessible overviews of over 500 topics in measurement and statistics.
  • Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
    This encyclopedia presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States. It covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience.
  • Encyclopedia of psychological assessment
    Contains almost 250 entries covering the entire field of psychological assessment. "Each entry includes a general conceptual and methodological overview, [and] a section on relevant assessment devices."
  • Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
    Includes over 600 brief and accessible entries about key concepts and ideas in social psychology. Entries are written by prominent academics and researchers and geared towards undergraduate students.
  • The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
    Provides "an introduction to a vast array of research methods by giving an account of their purposes, principles, developments, and applications."

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Interlibrary Loan
    Click First-Time User to sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account. Click Request a Photocopy to request articles we don't have access to at Morris Library and click Request a Loan to request books and other materials that aren't in I-Share.
 

Insert a Hanging Indent in a Word Document

APA citation format requires that all lines after the first line of a citation in the reference list are indented half an inch. This is called a hanging indent. Inserting a hanging indent into a Word document is easy!

Step 1: Place your cursor at the beginning of the second line of text in a citation.

Step 2: Right click and choose Paragraph (or open the Paragraph Settings box).

Step 3: In the Paragraph Settings box open the drop-down menu labelled Special in the Indentation section and select Hanging. Click OK.

Step 4: You're done!!! You're citation should look like this:

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip