This is the "Overview of Theater Collections" page of the "Theater Collections in SCRC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theater Collections in SCRC   Tags: manuscripts, photographs, rare books, special collections, theater, university archives  

This guide identifies archival and rare book collections related to theater and theater history in Morris Library's Special Collections Research Center.
Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/scrctheater Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview of Theater Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview of Theater Collections

This guide identifies manuscript collections, university records and VFMs (Vertical File Manuscripts) that are related to American, Irish and British theatre.  The Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) of Southern Illinois University Carbondale houses a diverse body of American, Irish and British theatre primary sources, from literature and history to art work and popular culture.  These include an extensive collection of correspondence, literary manuscripts, photographs, and ephemeral material as well as rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, and other printed matter.  For additional assistance, visit the SCRC website.

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections.  It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas.  More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) and through I-Share, Morris Library's online catalog.  I-Share contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in SCRC as well as books and other printed material available at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Finding aids for these sources are also available through SCRC's Web site in the finding aid database ARCHON.  

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in SCRC.  Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance.  In addition, some collections have access restrictions.  Researchers are encouraged to contact SCRC to insure that materials will be available.  We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

If you would like to know more about the theater resources in Morris Library and beyond, please see the Theater Research Guide.

Quick Links

  • Archon
    Follow this link to Archon, SCRC's archival finding aid database.
  • SIUCat
    Follow this link to SIUCat, where you can search for rare books and other materials available in Morris Library.
  • Contact the SCRC
    If you have a question about the Theater Collections, or any other materials in the SCRC, please contact us at any time.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip