This is the "Resources" page of the "Research Guides for Professor Reese's Courses" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Guides for Professor Reese's Courses   Tags: homeless, social work, university students  

topic: homeless university students
Last Updated: Feb 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/socialwork_reese Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Jian Anna Xiong
Contact Info
Morris Library (Mail Code 6632)
Carbondale, IL 62901

(618) 453-7108
axiong at lib.siu.edu

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
We're Here to Help!
Chat loading...

Key Databases and Links

Scholarly Journals vs Popular Magazines 

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Sample article: Crutchfield, R. M., Chambers, R. M., & Duffield, B. (2016). Jumping Through the Hoops to Get Financial Aid for College Students Who Are Homeless: Policy Analysis of the College Cost Reduction and Access Act of 2007. Families In Society, 97(3), 191-199. doi:10.1606/1044-3894.2016.97.25
  • LexisNexis Academic Search  
      
    "homeless university student"

    "Number of college students listed as homeless on the rise; Schools, recognizing problem, move more resources to aid them.." Palm Beach Post (Florida). (December 2, 2012 Sunday ): 940 words. LexisNexis Academic. Web. Date Accessed: 2017/02/06.

    DAWSON, ANASTASIA. "SHELTER OPENS FOR USF HOMELESS." Tampa Bay Times. (June 12, 2016 Sunday ): 1276 words. LexisNexis Academic. Web. Date Accessed: 2017/02/06.

    Thompson, Rhema. "A student at a university ... and homeless; Those who are in need often are hard to identify in the college population." Florida Times-Union (Jacksonville). (April 11, 2015 Saturday ): 1481 words. LexisNexis Academic. Web. Date Accessed: 2017/02/06.

    "HSU homeless call attention to issue; Student housing options limited on campus, in Arcata." Eureka Times-Standard (California). (December 1, 2016 Thursday ): 973 words. LexisNexis Academic. Web. Date Accessed: 2017/02/06.

  • OneSearch  
      
    e.g. You can type “social analysis” in the search box and click search. You will find lots of journal articles. To narrow down, on top of the result page you may add “homeless students in universities or college.” Then to the left, you may narrow down your search by checking the little box in front of Scholarly Journals to limit the search to peer reviewed articles. You can drag the publication date bar to limit searching newest research published in the last 10 years for example.

    The full text of lots of the journal articles you found in this way can be accessed online in PDF. You may email it to yourselve, save it to USB, or print it out.
  • SIUC Student Housing Policy
    Contact information
    Phone: 618.453.2301
    Email: housing@siu.edu
  • SIUE University Housing
    Contact information:
    Phone: (618) 650‑3931
    housing@siue.edu

Also Try

  • ArticleFirst  
      
    Identifies articles from publications in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index  
      
    Contains citations for arts & humanities journals, spanning 1975-present.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with links to some full-text items.
  • Humanities International Complete  
      
    Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
  • IngentaConnect  
      
    Hosts scholarly books and journals in a broad range of subjects. Some full-text is available.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
  • MasterFILE Premier  
      
    Contains nearly 1,950 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues, etc.
  • Military & Government Collection  
      
    A collection of periodicals, academic journals, pamphlets, and other content related to military and government.
  • OmniFile Full Text Select (Wilson)  
      
    A multidisciplinary database providing full text with every entry from more than 1,600 publications.
 

Search Books

Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.

Search I-Share @ Morris Library

 

Can't find it at Morris?

  • I-Share @ Morris Library
    Search and request books from colleges and universities all over Illinois. Your library bar code number is your network ID (siu + dawg tag number).
  • Interlibrary Loan
    Request books that you can't find at Morris Library or through I-Share. Books are delivered to the first floor circulation desk at Morris Library.
  • WorldCat Search
    Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find a resource in WorldCat, check in I-Share to see if you can order it. If not, try Interlibrary Loan.

Dissertations and Theses

 

OpenSIUC

 

Evaluating Your Search Strategies

Here are some tips if you found too much information, too little information, or the wrong information in your search.

Too Much Information

1.  Try looking at an irrelevant record your search retrieved

  Can you figure out why the database gave it to you? Did you use one word that the computer misunderstood? See if you can use a more specific term or maybe a short phrase that excludes the meaning you don't want. Try adding a new term which makes your old term more specific.

  Instead of  Japan and economy

  Try  Japan and economy and (auto or automobile or car)

2.  Check where in the record your search terms matched.

  The best matches for topics are in fields like Subject or Title. Look for an Advanced or Expert Search option in the database to search in specific fields only, if you can.

3.  Use limiters when they're available.

  Will the database let you ask for publications only in English? Can you ask for only peer reviewed journal articles? Want more recent information? Is there a subject heading that covers your topic? Can you get rid of book and film reviews? Play around with your options and see if they help. Try using the Boolean operator NOT.

  (Iran and Iraq) not war

  Hussein and not Saddam

  Clinton not Lewinsky

  +Jazz –Utah

 

Too Little Information

1. Did you spell your search terms correctly?

  Research databases are remarkable tools, but they don't come equipped with spell checkers. One misspelled word can sink an entire search. Check a dictionary.

2. Get rid of long phrases.

  When you type in a phrase, all the words must appear in exactly that order before the database will give you anything. Some databases automatically put the Boolean operator AND between the words you type, turning your phrase into a long Boolean search string.

  Instead of  discrimination against ethnic Chinese in Vietnam

  Try  discrimination and ethnic Chinese and Vietnam

3.  Try using alternative terms.

  That's what you gathered all the extra vocabulary for. Don't forget truncation or wildcards for variant forms of a word. Read help document in a database for more specific instruction.

4.  Try to come up with broader terms for the idea you need.

  Every so often, it happens that there's very little written on a specific topic, but a lot on the general area.

  Very narrow recombinant DNA and sheep

  Narrow  cloning and animals

  Broader  genetic engineering and animal*

  Very broad  genetic* and animal*

 

The Wrong Information

1. Check the coverage of the databases you're using.

  Do they cover the kinds of material you need? The right discipline(s)? The right kinds of documents? The right dates?

 

2. Check the Research Guide for your subject

 

  Linked under Find > OneSearch Beta > Databases by Subject on the Library's homepage, for recommended resources.

 


Citation Resources

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip