This is the "Home" page of the "Southern Illinois Collection at SCRC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Southern Illinois Collection at SCRC   Tags: history, resources, scrc, southern illinois, special collections, special topics  

Last Updated: Apr 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/southernillinoiscollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Collection

The Special Collections Research Center’s (SCRC) Southern Illinois Collection is a unique and valuable, easily accessible resource for research into many areas of 19th and 20th century  southern Illinois regional history.

Carefully compiled over decades of collecting by the SCRC, the collection is a rich store of primary source materials, consisting of rare and widely diverse types of material dating from the 1850s thru 2000, covering  a geographic area of Illinois counties south of Highway 64, including Alexander, Bond, Clay, Clinton, Crawford, Edwards, Effingham, Franklin, Fayette, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jefferson, Jersey, Johnson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, St. Claire, Saline, Vermillion, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White, Williamson, and Union counties.

The collection’s  publications, documents and other types of printed matter include newspaper and magazine clippings, planning and survey reports, booklets, brochures, business documents, bulletins, guidebooks, promotional material, maps, illustrations, speeches and addresses, government documents, event and meeting programs, postcards, newsletters, political campaign material, ephemera, and various other types of material document  a broad spectrum of the history of the southern Illinois region with material pertinent to many subject areas, including  community history, agriculture, archeology, art, business and industry, churches and religion, mining, folklore, geology, natural disasters, education and schools, politics and government, emigration, slavery, sports and entertainment, transportation, crime, literature and music, genealogy, historic sites, the Civil War, and many other areas of study.

The Southern Illinois Collection is arranged by subject area and county. A detailed collection description and searchable inventory is available through ARCHON, the SCRC’s collection database. Assistance accessing the collection is also available in the SCRC. Special Collections Research Center material cannot be checked out and must be used on the premises. Photocopies and scans of the collection material are available however.

 

Images from the Collection

    

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
We're Here to Help!
There seems to be something wrong with your browser. Please try reloading this page.
 

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip