A guide to research in Special Education.
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2013
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4, 650 periodicals, including more than 3, 600 peer-reviewed journals. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Education Abstracts
Education Abstracts provides indexing and abstracting for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks. It covers PK-12 education, adult education, continuing education, higher education, school administration, literacy standards, teaching methods and much more.
- ERIC (Ovid)
ERIC contains more than 1,250,000 records and links to full-text documents from the Educational Resource Information Center of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes lesson plans.
PsychINFO contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from 1887-present includes international material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles avaialble across the web. An easy path to check if an author has been cited by other researchers.
- Education in Video
The first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers.
- Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for many popular teacher and administration journals and magazines on such topics as Case Studies of Learning Disabilities and Intervention.
- Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
The encyclopedia succinctly defines more than 600 concepts.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (ie. tests, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales etc) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences and organizational behavior.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
MEDLINE can be used to search for journal articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including psychiatry.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
MMY, produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text reviews of English-language standardized tests as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks." Print copies of older editions: BF176.M45
- National Center for Education Statistics
U.S. Department of Education database of educational statistics.
- Professional Development Collection
Professional Development is designed for professional educators and provides full text access to nearly 520 specialized education journals and reports.
- Universal Design for Learning
UDL is a set of principles for curriculum development that gives all individuals equal opportunities to learn.
- Illinois State Board of Education Special Education and Support Services
- Special Education Sites on the Internet
- Internet Resources for Special Children
This site was developed by a parent of a disabled child. Links educators, medical professionals and caregivers to unique resources.
- The Awesome Library
Selecting 'Special Ed' directs user to a variety of special education related topics.
- Teachers Helping Teachers
Lesson plan segment includes Special Education with great strategies for inexperienced, as well as, seasoned teachers.
- School Psychology Resources Online
School psychology resources for psychologists, parents and educators organized by Sandra K. Steingart, Ph.D., NCSP, Office of Psychological Services, Baltimore County Public Schools, Baltimore , Maryland 21200
- The Arc: For People with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
The Arc is the largest national community-based advocacy organization for those with disabilities and their families. It encompasses all ages and all spectrums of the special needs population.