This is the "Research Guide" page of the "THEA 500: Research Methods" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

THEA 500: Research Methods   Tags: thea, theater  

Last Updated: Sep 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/thea500 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Your Librarian

Sarah Prindle, Humanities & Fine Arts Librarian

Contact Info
sprindle@lib.siu.edu

618/453-1249
Morris Library Room 260C

Office Hours: Wednesday 1-4pm, Friday 10am-1pm, & by appt.

Key Databases

See these recommended resources for scholarly articles and more.

  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text  
      
    "International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text,contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.
  • MLA International Bibliography  
      
    . Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series, and 1,000 book publishers.
  • JSTOR  
      
    A database of full text scholarly journals including more than 1000 performing arts, music, and fine arts titles.
  • Project Muse  
      
    Full text of all Johns Hopkins University Press' scholarly journals covering such disciplines as psychology, classics, cinema, medicine, literature, history, and more.
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance  
      
    Provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.
  • Theater In Video  
      
    This collection contains more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, and more than 100 documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours of hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
 

Tips for Searching Library Resources

Connect multiple search terms with AND, OR, NOT.

Locate for linked "Topic" or "Subject" terms in the record of a good book or article. Combine it with a keyword.

Fewer words in your search = More results, less specific.

More words in your search = Fewer results, more specific.

Suggested searches:

Playwright or play + "stage history" or "bibliography" in I-Share (great reference books!)

Try using the the "Thesaurus" or "Subject" tab in a database to locate subject terms.

Also Try

For primary resources and searching in multi-disciplinary scholarly databases.

 

Search I-Share @ Morris Library, the library's catalog

Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.

Search I-Share @ Morris Library

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world throug Interlibrary Loan

  • Interlibrary Loan
    If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an ILL account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
  • WorldCat  
      
    Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.

Finding Theses and Dissertations

Looking for long-form original research not yet published? Check these out from SIU and beyond.

  • Dissertations & Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale  
      
    Provides electronic versions of dissertations and theses from Southern Illinois University Carbondale AFTER Spring 2005. Print copies from BEFORE Spring 2005 are shelved by academic department on the 4th floor of Morris Library.
  • OpenSIUC  
      
    OpenSIUC is an institutional repository offering permanent, reliable,and free access to research and scholarly material produced at Southern Illinois University Carbondale.
  • Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
    Abstracts of 2 million dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present. Preview 20-25 pages of the work and then order through SIU interlibrary loan for free.
  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)  
      
    OATD currently indexes over 1.8 million theses and dissertations. Most will need to be request via Interlibrary Loan.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip