A guide to scholarly, historical, and popular research resources.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world throug Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an ILL account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
See these recommended resources for scholarly articles and more.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
"International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text,contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.
- MLA International Bibliography
. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series, and 1,000 book publishers.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
Provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.
- Theater In Video
This collection contains more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, and more than 100 documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours of hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
A database of full text scholarly journals including more than 1000 performing arts, music, and fine arts titles.
- Kanopy Streaming Videos
A streaming video resource with a collection of over 26,000 documentary and narrative films from producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, and First Run Features.
For primary resources and searching in multi-disciplinary scholarly databases.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
From Web of Science, a collection of arts and humanities scholarship.
- LexisNexis Academic Search - Legacy Interface (after 10/5/2017 see Nexis Uni)
LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs.
- Literature Online (LION)
Over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century. Also includes an extensive collection of criticism and reference materials.
- New York Times (1851 - 2013)
Full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times starting with the first issue of the publication to 2009.
- New York Times (1980 - present)
Full text and image for NYT 1980-present.
- Project Muse
Worldwide networked access to the full text of all Johns Hopkins University Press' scholarly journals covering such disciplines as psychology, classics, cinema, medicine, literature, history, and more.
Digital and physical archival collections.
- Alfred Junge Collection (Ransom Center @ UT-Austin)
The Alfred Junge collection at the Ransom Center consists of over 170 original designs and 5,000 stills and design photographs made for British films from 1920 to 1960. Junge’s best-known film work is on Black Narcissus (1947), Contraband (1940), The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp (1943), "I Know Where I'm Going!" (1945), and A Matter of Life and Death (1946).
- Circus Collection (Ransom Center @ UT-Austin)
The Circus collection contains clippings, photographs, posters, and programs pertaining to dozens of American and foreign circuses and showmen such as P. T. Barnum, Hagenbeck-Wallace, Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey, Sells-Floto, and Adam Forepaugh. The bulk of the material dates from the mid-nineteenth century to 1940. A wide variety of circus acts are represented, ranging from contortionists and aerialists to sword swallowers and sideshow performers, as are dime museums and Wild West productions, notably Buffalo Bill Cody.
- Coast to Coast: The Federal Theatre Project, 1935-1939 (Library of Congress)
Collection of photographs from the Depression-era Federal Theatre Project. Includes playbills, set designs, rehearsal candids, and more.
- Magic Posters and Playbills Collection (Ransom Center @ UT-Austin)
The magic posters and playbills digital collection contains selected visual images from the Ransom Center's Harry Houdini collection and Magicians collection pertaining to magicians and the history of magic from 1750 to 1920. Approximately 3,000 magicians are represented in the full collection. This digital collection includes selected posters, playbills, prints, and other ephemera documenting the careers of Harry Houdini, Jean Eugène Robert-Houdin, Harry Kellar, Henry Evanion, and others.
- Performing Arts Glass Plate Negatives (Ransom Center @ UT-Austin)
Digital Image Collection. The Performing Arts Glass Plate Negatives Collection, ca. 1890–ca. 1920 (bulk 1900–1910), consists of 95 photographic glass plate negatives. Forty-six images are from twenty theater productions in New York and thirty-four images are from unidentified productions. The photographs show actors in costume, often on a stage set, depicting the action for a particular play.
- Special Collections Resource Center (SIU)
Theater related materials in Morris Library's special collections and archives. Includes Abbey Theatre collection, Darwin Reid Payne papers, Katherine Dunham collection, and Theater Department papers and photos.
Looking for long-form original research not yet published? Check these out from SIU and beyond.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts of 2 million dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present. Preview 20-25 pages of the work and then order through SIU interlibrary loan for free.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Provides electronic versions of dissertations and theses from Southern Illinois University Carbondale AFTER Spring 2005. Print copies from BEFORE Spring 2005 are shelved by academic department on the 4th floor of Morris Library.
OpenSIUC is an institutional repository offering permanent, reliable,and free access to research and scholarly material produced at Southern Illinois University Carbondale.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
OATD currently indexes over 1.8 million theses and dissertations. Most will need to be request via Interlibrary Loan.