This is the "Finding Journal Articles" page of the "ZOOL 432: Principles of Toxicology " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ZOOL 432: Principles of Toxicology   Tags: toxicology, zool, zoology  

Course guide for SIUC Zoology 432.
Last Updated: Jul 6, 2016 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/toxicology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Tips for Finding Articles about Toxicology

Not every database indexes the same items or journals, even OneSearch or GoogleScholar. For a complete search, use more than one database.

Databases produced by the same vendor (for example, Biological Abstracts, Zoological Record, Web of Science) may be searched together.

Use Boolean searches. Connect your search terms and phrases with and, or, and not.

Use near synonyms and connect with OR:

  • Use the common name and scientific name of an organism, e.g., Sander vitreus or walleye or Stizostedion vitreum
  • Use CAS Registry Numbers to locate information about specific chemicals (Use ChemIDplus in TOXNET to find CAS numbers).
  • Use group names of chemicals or chemical symbols or brand names as well as common names (e.g., organochlorines or DDT or toxaphene or aldrin)

Use Thesaurus or MeSH or “Suggest” or “Map” functions to search subject headings if available.

Link from subjects or descriptors found in articles to find others.

Use keywords: detection, biosensing, analysis, isolation, monitoring, etc. 

If available, use author indexes to search for publications by the same person

Use limits, such as language, publication date, and publication type (e.g., scholarly journals or peer-reviewed journals).

Combine searches in Search History.

Use truncation symbols if available, e.g. detect* will find detect or detection, bioav* will find bioavailable or bioavailability

 

Locating print and full text articles

If you are searching a database, use the Find Full Text links in citations to see if Morris Library has the article online.  If the menu says that we do not have the article online, either check the I-Share databases to see if we have the print journal using the links provided, or go to the bottom of the menu to do a Google Scholar search for open access materials. 

If you have an article citation and you are not in a database:

Use I-Share@Morris Library to find print and electronic journals         

Use the Journals search (click on the link on the library's home page) to locate electronic journals

If Morris Library doesn't have the print or full text journal, order the article using Interlibrary Loan.

 

OneSearch

OneSearch
 

Class Presentation 2-9-2015

This is a PDF of the Powerpoint presentation used in class on February 9, 2015.

Databases

Choose databases that match your topic (read the descriptions below or contact me for suggestions). When searching for a specific organism, use both common and scientific names. Use subject headings (descriptors) if available. Use the CAS registry number if you are having difficulty locating information about a specific chemical.

  • AGRICOLA (OneSearch)
    AGRICOLA (U.S. National Agricultural Library) focuses on agriculture, but contains information about domestic animal-wildlife interactions and the U.S. national parks. Citations to articles, books, government reports etc. are from 1970 to present.
  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
    ASFA contains citations to journal articles, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. You may also want to search Water Resources Abstracts. (To search with Water Resources Abstracts, use this link.)
  • Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)  
      
    Biological Abstracts contains citations to articles about the life sciences and biomedical research published in more than 4,000 journals internationally. Online coverage: 1990-present. Morris Library also has the older print volumes of this index.
  • CAB Abstracts (OneSearch)
    Contains citations to journal articles, monographs, conference proceedings, books, annual reports etc. in all agricultural fields as well as forestry, nutrition, veterinary medicine, and biological information. Coverage: 1990-present.
  • Environment Index (OneSearch)
    "Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies." Some coverage goes back to the 1940s.
  • GEOREF
    GEOREF contains citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and theses, about soils and other geological sciences, with coverage back to 1966.
  • Google Scholar
    This general search engine includes citations to journal articles and freely available full-text items. Dates of coverage vary. Use the Find it Morris link to find the article in Morris Library's databases. Also contains links to open access documents.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR contains fulltext articles from *older* zoology, aquatic sciences, biology, ecology, and environmental sciences journals. Dates of coverage vary.
  • Oceanic Abstracts
    This database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Coverage: 1981-present.
  • PubMed
    General medical database that includes citations to veterinary medicine journals. This is the public access version of MEDLINE. Try searching the name of the chemical and the word isolation or detection, e.g., atrazine and isolation. Other subjects to use include biosensing techniques or environmental monitoring.
  • SciFinder (Web version)
    SciFinder includes the abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry. Coverage goes back to the beginning of the 20th century. It includes searching by chemical formula, structure, and reaction. First-time users need to register. See the registration information below. Tutorials from the vendor are available here.
  • SciFinder Web Registration
    First-time users of the SciFinder Web version need to register. Use an e-mail address within the siu.edu domain on the registration form. Access the registration URL from a computer workstation on campus.
  • TOXNET
    TOXNET is a group of databases about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, etc., from the US National Library of Medicine. It includes several databases, and uses MEDLINE citations.
  • Water Resources Abstracts
    Covers the "characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources." Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts, a related database, covers "the marine environment and biological material." (To search with Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, use this link.)
  • Web of Science
    This collection of databases includes Web of Science, which may be used to search for cited references as well as topics. It also includes a citation manager (EndNote Web) as well as Journal Citation Reports. Web of Science only (not Biological Abstracts and not Zoological Record) is available in OneSearch back to 1989.
  • Zoological Record (Web of Science)
    Contains citations to articles about animals published in "journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings" from 1978 to present. Morris Library has the print version of this index back to volume 1.

Natural Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Taylor
Your JavaScript is disabled.
 

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip