This is the "Finding SCRC Materials on Vice" page of the "Vice Resources in SCRC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Vice Resources in SCRC   Tags: history study, manuscripts, rare books, scrc, special collections  

Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/vice Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding SCRC Materials on Vice Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Strategies

There are two primary places to search for archival collections and books. ARCHON is a keyword-searchable database of archival finding aids. SIUCat lists many rare books and also contains brief records for archival collections.  You can limit I-Share to search Special Collections by clicking on the "More Limits" button on the search screen.

To get an overview of what SCRC might have on your topic, try some keyword searches in ARCHON and I-Share.  You can use the names of vices as keywords, such as "prostitution," "gambling," and "drinking."  Terms related to vice, such as "alcohol" will help broaden your search.  Search terms related to virtue, such as "purity" and "temperance" might also be helpful.

You may also want to browse the collections using the SCRC subject guides. This can be particularly helpful when looking for archival material. For example, if you are interested in the history of prohibition in southern Illinois, you can look at the archival collections listed in our Guide to Southern Illinois History Collections for materials from the 1920s.

If SCRC doesn't have what you're looking for, there are some great web resources of digitized historical materials.  CARLI Digital Collections contains materials from academic and research libraries throughout Illinois. The American Memory Project is based at the Library of Congress.  Both of these are very rich resources for primary source research.

Quick Links

  • ARCHON
    Search for archival collections
  • SIUCat
    Search for books. Remember to limit the search to Special Collections materials if you are only interested in rare books.
  • SCRC Subject Guides
    Browse collections in our focused subject areas.
  • Contact the SCRC
    We're always happy to answer any questions you might have about the collections or finding materials.
  • CARLI Digital Collections
    Digital collections from libraries throughout Illinois
  • American Memory Project
    Fantastic American history resource from the Library of Congress

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip