- AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics
- AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
AGRICOLA (U.S. National Agricultural Library) focuses on agriculture, but contains information about domestic animal-wildlife interactions, conservation, riparian environments, U.S. national parks. Citations to articles, books, government reports etc. are from 1970 to present.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
ASFA contains citations to journal articles, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. You may also want to search Water Resources Abstracts.
- Biological Abstracts (ISI Web of Knowledge)
Biological Abstracts contains citations to articles about the life sciences and biomedical research published in more than 4,000 journals internationally. Online coverage: 1969-present. Morris Library also has the older print volumes of this index.
- CAB Abstracts
Contains citations to journal articles, monographs, conference proceedings, books, annual reports etc. in all agricultural fields as well as forestry, biology, riparian environments, conservation, etc. Coverage: 1990-present.
Search by keyword for information about water resources, natural resources, modeling, environmental services, etc.
- Environment Index (EBSCO)
"Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies." Some coverage goes back to the 1940s.
GEOREF contains citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and theses, about limnology, hydrology, and other geological sciences, with coverage back to 1785 for U.S. documents and 1933 for world documents.
- Google Scholar
This general search engine includes citations to journal articles and freely available full-text items. Dates of coverage vary. Use the Find it Morris link to find the article in Morris Library's databases. Also contains links to open access documents.
JSTOR contains selected fulltext articles from *older* zoology, aquatic sciences, biology, ecology, and environmental sciences journals. Dates of coverage vary.
- Middle East Water Collection (Oregon State University)
From the site: "The Middle East Water Collection provides access to roughly 9000 items on political, socio-economic, demographic, and legal issues of water in the Middle East. Materials include data, books, journal and newspaper articles, and documents published in the Middle East, Europe, and North America originating from a variety of publishers and national and multinational agencies and organizations. Materials in the public domain are available in full text from this website." If you need something that is not available online, please contact the Information Desk at Morris Library (618-453-2818) or Mary Taylor, Natural Sciences Librarian, (618-453-5492) if you need assistance in locating the items at Morris Library or borrowing items from another library.
- National Wetlands Research Center (USGS): Searchable Database and Electronic Resources
This resource is a wonderful, very comprehensive collection of government online resources. For example, environmental impact statements can be found in Science.gov, which is one resource included at this website.
- Oceanic Abstracts
This database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Coverage: 1981-present.
- Water Resources Abstracts
Covers the "characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources." Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts, a related database, covers "the marine environment and biological material."
- Web of Knowledge
This collection of databases includes Web of Science, which may be used to search for cited references as well as topics. It also includes a citation manager (EndNote Web) as well as Journal Citation Reports. Web of Science Coverage is from 1956-present.
- Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL)
From the site: "The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) provides free public access to digital collections of significant primary and secondary resources on water in the western United States...The WWDL is a valuable resource for researchers, policy makers, scholars, Native American tribes, professionals working in various fields, and others interested in contemporary and historic water issues.
- Wetland Restoration Bibliography (1996)
By Kevin L. Erwin. Published by Wetlands International and The Association of State Wetland Managers, Inc.
- Zoological Record (ISI Web of Knowledge)
Contains citations to articles about animals published in "journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings" from 1978 to present. Morris Library has the print version of this index back to volume 1.