This is the "Resources @ Morris Library" page of the "WGSS Digital Projects and Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

WGSS Digital Projects and Archives  

Last Updated: Aug 25, 2016 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/wgssdigitalprojects Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Resources @ Morris Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Your Librarian

Sarah Prindle, Humanities & Fine Arts Librarian

Contact Info
sprindle@lib.siu.edu

618/453-1249
Morris Library Room 260C

Digital Projects

These open access digital projects are aimed at a range of WGSS topics.

  • Against Equality
    Website and digital archive of "queer challenges to the politics of inclusion."
  • Discovering American Women's History Online
    This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
  • Empirical Studies of Conflict Project (ESOC)
    The Empirical Studies of Conflict Project (ESOC) identifies, compiles, and analyzes micro-level conflict data and information on insurgency, civil war, and other sources of politically motivated violence worldwide.
  • Human Rights Web Archive @ Columbia University
    Searchable collection of archived copies of human rights websites created by non-governmental organizations, national human rights institutions, tribunals and individual
  • OutHistory.org
    Includes primary source material, and secondary sources articles and analyses of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and heterosexual U.S. history.
  • Queer Zine Archive
    The mission of the Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) is to establish a “living history” archive of past and present queer zines and to encourage current and emerging zine publishers to continue to create.
  • Researching Women in Silent Cinema: New Findings and Perspectives
    A Creative Commons license anthology of feminist film studies on silent cinema, from the conferences proceedings of the Women and the Silent Screen VI (Bologna). Film history scholars from across the globe address questions of performance, nationality, industry, technology, labor, and theory of feminist historiography.
  • Women Film Pioneer's Project
    Free online database of more than 150 career profiles of women who worked during the silent film era as directors, co-directors, scenario writers, camera operators, title writers, editors, costume designers, exhibitors, animal trainers, studio accountants, film company owners, and theatre managers.

Open Access and Free Resources

Scholarly and public open access resource, including databases to search open access articles.

Archival and Primary Resource Collections

Try these websites to locate primary sources. Keep mind that most archives cannot afford to digitize their collections, so some will just have lists of what's in their archives, called finding aids. I've tried to include places that at least have a portion of their collection digitized online.

  • ACTUP Oral History Project
    A full-text collection of over 100 interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power- New York.
  • FBI Vault Files: The Mattachine Society
    Begun in 1950, the Mattachine Society was an early homosexual rights advocacy organization. It became the subject of an FBI internal security investigation ...
  • Gayback Machine
    Digital collection of historical radio broadcasts from GLBT Radio on KSAN-FM San Francisco and Gay Radio from KPFA Berkeley
  • GLBTQ Archives (Central Connecticut State University)
    Digitized collection of GLBTQ history from Connecticut and national campaigns/organizations.
  • Lesbian Herstory Archives: Digital Collections
    A sampling of the Lesbian Herstory Archives that have been digitized (the archives are in Brooklyn). The Lesbian Herstory Archives has the world's largest collection of materials by and about Lesbians.
  • LGBT Religious Archives Network: Oral History Collection
    This Oral History collection provides in-depth interviews with a diverse group of early LGBT religious leaders. By selecting a person you can listen to that interview, read the transcript, view photographs and peruse biographical notes.
  • LGBTData (Drexel University)
    A free, open-access collection of data on LGBTQ topics and populations, including HIV/AIDS, domestic partner/sexual violence, mental health, and behavioral risk factor surveys.
  • ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
    Sampling of images held at ONE Archives at the USC Libraries that has been digitized for online display for purposes of education and personal research.
  • OutHistory.org
    Includes primary source material, and secondary sources articles and analyses of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and heterosexual U.S. history.
  • Queer Zine Archive
    The mission of the Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) is to establish a “living history” archive of past and present queer zines and to encourage current and emerging zine publishers to continue to create.
  • Rainbow History Project
    Archives and oral history project for LGBTQ communities in Washington, DC. Many of their materials have been digitized and are available here.
  • Special Collections Resource Center at Morris Library
    Search the finding aids for the archives here at Morris Library. Saluki Rainbow Network was an early GLBT student organization at SIU Carbondale.
  • The History Project
    The History Project is an all-volunteer organization focused on several important initiatives: conducting research on lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, and transgenders in Massachusetts , preserving the documentary record of that community's social and historical contributions, providing a forum for educating the general public.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip