A guide to research in Workforce Education and Development.
Last Updated: Feb 5, 2014
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,650 periodicals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Business Source Complete
This database contains full-text articles from business journals. magazines, and trade publications. Useful in researching: Human Resources, Continuing Education, In-service Training and Vocational Education.
- Education Abstracts
Education Abstracts provides indexing and abstracting for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks. It covers PK-12 education, adult education, continuing education, higher education, school administration, literacy standards, teaching methods and much more.
- ERIC (Ovid)
ERIC contains more than 1, 250,000 records and links to full-text documents from the Educational Resource Information Center of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes lesson plans.
This database is useful for researching such topics as: Occupational Stress, Working Conditions, or Industrial & Organizational Psychology.
- Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for many popular teacher and administration journals and magazines on such topics as: Occupational Training and Career Development.
- SocIndex with Full Text
Strong holdings in sociology/socialwork but useful for researching: Labor Supply, Personnel Management, Workforce Planning and Vocational Rehabilitation.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Dissertations & Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
A Proquest database of dissertations from many universities. Most records include abstracts; some provide full text or 11 page previews. Dissertations can be borrowed using the interlibrary loan form.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles avaialble across the web. An easy path to check if an author has been cited by other researchers.
- National Center for Education Statistics
U.S.Department of Education database of educational statistics.
- Professional Development Collection
Professional Development is a database designed for professional educators and provides full text access to nearly 520 specialized education journals and reports. Search the terms: Occupational Training, Career Development, Human Capital or Workforce Planning.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics