This is the "Resources" page of the "ZOOL 407: Parasitology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ZOOL 407: Parasitology   Tags: biology, courses, health, life sciences, public health, zoology  

This is a research guide for students taking Zoology 407: Parasitology
Last Updated: May 23, 2016 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/zool407 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Government and UN Resources

Your Librarian--Get Help

Profile Image
Mary Taylor
Your JavaScript is disabled.

Online Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of Life Sciences  
      
    "A fulltext resource that includes 4,200 peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. The appendix and glossary include biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data."
  • Encyclopedia of Parasitology (3rd edition)
    Features in-depth essays and definitions on all areas of veterinary and human parasitology. Topics are arranged alphabetically, or look for information by using the search box in the upper right-hand corner ("Search within this reference work").

Key Databases

Use these databases to find information about parasites. Contact  me for assistance.

In general, it is better to break your topic down into terms connected by the words and (all of these), or (either or these), not (none of these), e.g.,

  • cryptosporidium and life cycle
  • Baylisascaris and pathology
  • climate change and malaria

Click on the Find Full Text buttons/links to see the Find Full Text menu to see if we have the article online or in print at Morris. There is also a link at the bottom of the menu to search for free full text via Google Scholar.

If the article is not available, use the interlibrary loan link on the menu to order it at no charge. There is no limit on the amount of articles.

  • Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)  
      
    Contains citations to information about life sciences and biomedicine from 1968-present. In addition to topic searching, you may search by taxa, role of organism, methods, equipment, chemicals, etc. Morris Library also has the older print volumes.
  • CAB Abstracts (EBSCO, OneSearch)
    Good for agriculture-animal-human parasitology topics. Contains citations to journal articles, monographs, conference proceedings, books, annual reports etc. in all agricultural fields including animal science and veterinary medicine. Coverage: 1990-present. To limit to scholarly journals, click on the Academic Journals limit under Source Types in the left column of the results page. To find review articles, use reviews as a search term, e.g., rabies and reviews.
  • PubMed  
      
    General medical database. Sign up for a MyNCBI account to store your citations, create an search alert, and set your library preferences so the Morris Library Find Full Text links appear.
  • Web of Science  
      
    This collection of databases includes Science Citation Index, Biological Abstracts, Zoological Record, and MEDLINE. It also includes a citation manager (EndNote Web) as well as Journal Citation Reports.
  • Zoological Record (1945-present) - Web of Science  
      
    Contains citations to articles published in professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings from 1978 to present. Morris Library has the print version of this index back to volume 1.

Also Try

  • AGRICOLA  
      
    AGRICOLA contains citations to journal articles, extension documents, government reports, books, theses, audiovisual materials, and patents back to 1970. It is a service of the U.S. National Agricultural Library.
  • Annual Reviews  
      
    The Annual Reviews site contains full-text access to many yearly life sciences reviews, including: Plant Biology; Phytopathology; Ecology, Evolution & Systematics; Genetics; and Marine Science. Dates of coverage vary.
  • BioOne  
      
    BioOne contains full text bioscience research journals.
  • DPDx: Laboratory Identification of Parasitic Diseases of Public Health Concern (CDC)
    DPDx, a service of the CDC, contains "concise reviews of parasites and parasitic diseases, including an image library and a review of recommended procedures for collecting, shipping, processing, and examining biologic specimens."
  • Entrez cross-database search
    Search across GenBank, BLAST, Human Genome, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals, Protein, SNP, and other NCBI databases.
  • Environment Index  
      
    May be useful for topics about how weather/climate affects the spread of disease.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    General search engine that includes citations to journal articles and freely available full text items. Dates of coverage vary.
  • JSTOR  
      
    JSTOR contains fulltext articles from *older* plant biology, aquatic sciences, biology, ecology, and environmental sciences journals. Dates of coverage vary.
  • SciFinder (Web version login)  
      
    SciFinder includes the abstracts for articles in more than 10,000 journals, chiefly in chemistry, but it also includes information about molecular biology, vaccine creation, etc. First-time users need to register. See the registration information below. Learn about using SciFinder here.
  • SciFinder Web Registration (for first time users)  
      
    SciFinder Scholar includes information about biochemistry and genetics. This link to the registration form must be accessed from a workstation on campus. Use an SIU email address to register.
 

Search I-Share @ Morris Library, the library's catalog

Search for books and government documents about parasites and parasitology, epidemiology, and more.

Use broad classes as well as narrower terms, e.g., hookworm

Use the names of hosts as well as the disease, e.g., mosquitoes or malaria or plasmodium.

If you find the "perfect" book, check the subjects listed in the record and use them to find more.

You may request print (not electronic) books from other libraries using your I-Share account.

If you need more help, contact me for assistance.

Here are a few suggested subject headings:

  • Chagas disease epidemiology
  • Trypanosomiasis
  • Malaria
  • Plasmodium
  • Malaria prevention & control
  • Vectors
  • Vaccines
  • Mosquitoes as carriers of disease
  • Hookworm disease

Search I-Share @ Morris Library

Here are a few examples of books available via Morris Library:

Cover Art
Malaria - David Sullivan (Editor); Sanjeev Krishna (Editor)
Call Number: Online Book
ISBN: 9783540290889
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Progress in Parasitology - Heinz Mehlhorn (Editor)
Call Number: Online Book
ISBN: 9783642213960
Publication Date: 2011


Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Interlibrary Loan
    If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
  • WorldCat  
      
    Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.

Dissertations/Theses

For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.

 

OpenSIUC

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip