This is a research guide for students taking Comparative Endocrinology
If you are searching a database, use the Find Full Text links in citations to see if Morris Library has the article online.
If you have an article citation and you are not in a database:
Use I-Share@Morris Library to find print and electronic journals
Use the Journals search (click on the link on the library's home page) to locate electronic journals
If Morris Library doesn't have the print or full text journal, order the article using Interlibrary Loan.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
ASFA contains citations to journal articles, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. You may also want to search Water Resources Abstracts or you can search both databases together
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)
Biological Abstracts contains citations to articles about the life sciences and biomedical research published in more than 4,000 journals internationally. Online coverage: 1990-present. Morris Library also has the older print volumes of this index.
- Environment Index (OneSearch)
"Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies." Some coverage goes back to the 1940s.
- Google Scholar
This general search engine includes citations to journal articles and freely available full-text items. Dates of coverage vary. Use the Find it Morris link to find the article in Morris Library's databases. Also contains links to open access documents.
- OMIM: Online Inheritance in Man
From the site: " Online Mendelianmation about i Inheritance in Man (OMIM®) is a continuously updated catalog of human genes and genetic disorders and traits, with particular focus on the molecular relationship between genetic variation and phenotypic expression. It is thus considered to be a phenotypic companion to the Human Genome Project."
General medical database that includes citations to veterinary medicine journals. This is the public access version of MEDLINE. You may contact me for help. or use the tutorials at the site, or view this MeSH video
available on Youtube. You may also want to sign up for an NCBI account
so you can store searches, register your library preferences, etc.
TOXNET is a group of databases about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, etc., from the US National Library of Medicine.
- Water Resources Abstracts
Covers the "characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources." Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts, a related database, covers "the marine environment and biological material." You may also want to search Aquatic Science and Fisheries Abstracts.
- Web of Science
This collection of databases includes Web of Science, which may be used to search for cited references as well as topics. It also includes a citation manager (EndNote Web) as well as Journal Citation Reports.
- Zoological Record
Contains citations to articles about animals published in "journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings" from 1978 to present. Morris Library has the print version of this index back to volume 1.
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Human Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology