Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Morris Library

EDUC 510: Introduction to Doctoral Studies in Education: Resources

Literature Review Tools

Refining Your Topic

To find scholarly materials on your topic, you will need to understand the thesauri for the different databases you will be searching. You will also need to develop a list of terms and keywords that you use to search databases looking for new materials to add to your literature review.

Let's begin with a sample topic:  

Safety policies in K-12 schools, specifically relating  to weapons

What are the concepts represented in this topic?

Weapons

Policies

K-12 schools

Safety

What are some synonyms that might be used in books, articles, presentations, dissertations, and reports that address each of the facets of this research topic?             

Weapons

Policies

K-12 schools

Safety

gun*

polic*

school*

violence

toy gun*

educational polic*

public school*

school safety

knive*

zero tolerance policy

middle school*

child safety

rifle*

 school polic*

secondary school*

accident*

firearm*

 discipline polic*

elementary school*

school security

bomb*

 

high school*

Use the Thesaurus of each database to identify the appropriate "controlled vocabulary" for that database. Add these terms to your list. Try searching with different combinations of terms.

When you find a relevant source, examine the subject descriptors or terms that have been applied to that source. Add any new terms you find to your list. Use the terms to search by keyword in the databases, on the web, and elsewhere to identify new materials. Always review the references on each relevant item to identify other materials you should obtain.

Searching Practice Activity

Find two resources appropriate for a literature review from your assigned research tool. 

  1. Reference tool - find definitions of terms or other background information normally from secondary sources
  2. ERIC (EBSCO) - find one journal article and one ERIC document (EDxxxxxxx in Accession Number field)
  3. Dissertations and Theses - find two dissertations
  4. Specialized database - PsycINFO or a database for another discipline
  5. Google Scholar - find two highly "Cited by..." articles
  6. Books (Morris Library catalog) - find a book currently available in Morris Library and another book that is available through I-Share, but not in Morris Library; must be available to check out

In selecting the citations your team of two will present to the class, consider the scholarly nature of the source including:

  • Credibility
  • Accuracy
  • Reasonableness
  • Support

Source:
Harris, R. (2010, November 22). Evaluating Internet research sources. Retrieved from: http://www.virtualsalt.com/evaluating-internet-research-sources/

Also consider and be prepared to present to the class:

  1. The step-by-step process by which you found your resource.
  2. Any prominent search features you would like to highlight or challenges you faced.
  3. The benefit of this research tool when compiling your resources.

Google Scholar




Google Scholar and Morris Library

1.  To Access Morris Library sources, click on Scholar Preferences.
2.  In Library Links, type in Southern Illinois University Carbonale.
3.  Select the box next to Find Full Text at Morris.
4.  When you find a resource in Google Scholar, don't try to access it with the title!!!!  Click on the Find Full Text @ Morris link.

We're Here to Help

Profile Photo
Ask A Librarian
There seems to be something wrong with your browser. Please try reloading this page.
For in-depth research assistance, fill out this form to meet with a librarian

For quick questions, call the Information Desk at (618) 453-2818

For questions that can wait a day or two, email us at askalibrarian@siu.edu

Subjects: Accountancy, Accounting, Advanced Energy and Fuel Management, Aerospace Studies, Africana Studies, Agricultural Sciences, Agricultural Systems and Education, Anthropology, Architectural Studies, Architecture, Army Military Science, Art, Art and Design, Art Education, Art History, Automotive Technology, Aviation Flight, Aviation Management, Aviation Technologies, Behavior Analysis and Therapy, Biomedical Engineering, Biomedical Science, Business, Business Administration, Business Analytics, Business and Administration, Child and Family Services, Cinema, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Computer Engineering, Counseling and Rehabilitation Education, Creative Writing, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Curriculum and Instruction, Cybersecurity and Cyber Systems, Early Childhood, Econometrics and Quantitative Economics, Economics, Education, Educational Administration, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Elementary Education, English, Environmental Resources Policy, Exercise Science, Fashion Studies, Finance, Forensic Science, Game Design and Development, Geography and Environmental Resources, Geosciences, Global Studies, Health Administration, Higher Education, History, Human Sciences, Industrial Design, Information Technology, Interior Design, Journalism, Languages, Cultures, and International Studies, Latino and Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Management, Marketing, Mass Communication and Media Arts, Mechanical Engineering and Energy Processes, Media Theory and Research, Medical Dosimetry, Medical Science, Molecular Biology, Microbiology, and Biochemistry, Molecular, Cellular, and Systemic Physiology, Music, Musical Theater, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Paralegal Studies, Pharmacology and Neuroscience, Philosophy, Plant, Soil, and Agricultural Systems, Political Science, Professional Media and Media Management Studies, Psychology, Public Administration, Public and Nonprofit Administration, Public Safety Management, Quality Engineering and Management, Quantitative Methods Education, Radio, Television, and Digital Media, Radiological Sciences, Social Work, Sociology, Special Education, Sport Administration, STEM Leadership, Strategic Analytics, Teacher Education Program, Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages, Technical Resource Management, Theater, University Honors, University Studies, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, Workforce Education and Development