- Black Studies Center
The Search All database is comprised of Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, historical black newspapers, current scholarly journals from International Index to Black Periodicals and The Marshall Index, and citations from the Black Literature Index.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
- SocIndex with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
- African American Poetry
African American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry.
- Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1992)
This is a full-text searchable database of Chicago Tribune issues from 1849 to 1986. It includes digital reproductions of newspaper pages, including images.
- Chicago Tribune (1989-present)
Provides reporting and analysis of regional, national, and international news.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. The database begins its coverage in 1960.
- OmniFile Full Text Select (Wilson)
This multidisciplinary database provides full text with every entry from more than 1,600 publications.
- Project Muse
Worldwide networked access to the full text of all Johns Hopkins University Press' scholarly journals covering such disciplines as psychology, classics, cinema, medicine, literature, history, and more.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers can be used to simultaneously search three different digitized newspapers: The Chicago Tribune, The Chicago Defender, and The New York Times.
Citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. It contains more than 2 million records from 1806 to the present.
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find a resource in WorldCat, check in I-Share to see if Morris Library owns a copy. If not, then request it through Interlibrary Loan.
- Archives Unbound
Several collections of primary source documents. Includes: Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement, Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s, and James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi.
- Kanopy Streaming Videos
A streaming video resource with a collection of over 26,000 documentary and narrative films from producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, and First Run Features.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.