This research guide contains information for students of Agricultural Communications, Agricultural Education, Agricultural Production Management, Agricultural Systems Technology Management, Food and Process Engineering Technology, & General Agriculture.
See the tabs above for additional databases for Agricultural Communications, Agricultural Education, and Food Safety and Process Engineering Technology. If you are working on engineering topics, you may want to also see the engineering research guides.
AGRICOLA contains citations to journal articles (including Acta Horticulturae) extension documents, government reports, books, theses, audiovisual materials, and patents back to 1970. It is a service of the U.S. National Agricultural Library.
- American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Online Technical Library
Contains full text journal articles and technical documents published by the ASABE, including Transactions of the ASABE," Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health, Applied Engineering in Agriculture, ASABE Standards, conference proceedings, and annual meeting papers.
- Business Source Complete
Contains information about agribusiness and trade journals. This database is also for general searches about business management practices. Dates of coverage vary.
- CAB Abstracts (1990-present)
CAB Abstracts contains citations to journal articles, monographs, books, conference proceedings, etc., in all agricultural fields as well as forestry and life sciences. It includes coverage from 1990 to present.
- CompendexWeb (Engineering Village)
Compendex is a major database for all areas of engineering. It has references to journal articles and conference proceedings, including items from Engineering Index back to the late 1800s.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Don't let the name fool you! Contains citations and some full text information about agronomy, soils, and other related topics.
- Academic Search Complete
General database with *some* full text. Dates of coverage vary.
- AgNIC: Agriculture Network Information Center
Includes access to the public version of AGRICOLA, as well as full text extension documents, agricultural experiment station documents, and other "reliable, freely-available, evaluated, digital content and quality services for agriculture, food, and natural resources information."
- Annual Reviews
The Annual Reviews site contains full-text access to many yearly life sciences reviews, including: Food Science and Technology, Plant Biology; Phytopathology; Ecology, Evolution & Systematics; and Genetics. Dates of coverage vary.
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)
Contains citations to information about life sciences and biomedicine from 1968-present. In addition to topic searching, you may search by taxa, role of organism, methods, equipment, chemicals, etc. Morris Library also has the older print volumes.
- Environment Index
"Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus." Some coverage goes back to the 1940s.
- Google Scholar
General search engine that includes citations to journal articles and freely available full text items. Dates of coverage vary.
JSTOR contains full text articles from *older* plant biology, aquatic sciences, biology, ecology, and environmental sciences journals. Dates of coverage vary.
- Plant Management Network
From the publisher:"Plant Management Network (PMN) is a not-for-profit, online publishing effort whose mission is to enhance the health, management, and production of agricultural and horticultural crops." It includes four peer-reviewed journals (Applied Turfgrass Science, Crop Management, Forage and Grazing Lands, & Plant Health Progress), and other resources, including "Plant Disease Management Reports," an image database, sections on specific crops, etc.
- PLANTS Database (National Resources Conservation Service, USDA)
Includes information about agricultural and horticultural plants. From the site: "The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."
- PubAg (US Department of Agriculture)
From the site:"PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and citations to an additional 340,000 articles."
- SciFinder (Web version login)
SciFinder Scholar includes information about chemistry, plant biology, biochemistry and genetics. Go to this page
for registration information. Coverage: mostly 1907-present.
- SciFinder Web Registration (for first time users)
First-time users of the SciFinder Web version need to register. Registration must be done with an email address ending in .siu.edu from an on-campus computer or from a computer connected to the university's VPN.
- Web of Science
This collection of databases includes Web of Science, which may be used to search for cited references as well as topics. It also includes a citation manager (EndNote Web) as well as Journal Citation Reports. Covers 1985-present. Note: Web of Science is also covered by the OneSearch database back to 1989.
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology