A guide to research in Animal Science.
Note: Databases from the same vendor (for example, EBSCO) may be searched together.
- CAB Abstracts (1990-present)
Contains citations to journal articles, monographs, conference proceedings, books, annual reports etc. in all agricultural fields as well as forestry, nutrition, veterinary medicine, and biological information. Coverage: 1990-present.
Contains citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Coverage: 1970-present. Created by the U.S. National Agricultural Library.
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)
Contains citations to information about life sciences and basic veterinary research. Online coverage: 1968-present. (Morris Library has older volumes in print.)
- Medline (EBSCO)
General medical database that includes citations to veterinary medicine journals. PubMed (see the Also Try section) is the public access version of this database.
- PubAg (US Department of Agriculture)
From the site:"PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and citations to an additional 340,000 articles."
- Web of Science
Web of Science covers many disciplines in depth. It includes citation searching and analysis, journal impact factor (JCR) and a bibliographic management tool (EndNote Web). Coverage: 1985-present.
- Academic Search Complete
A general database that indexes popular magazines and scholarly journals. Contains *some* full text articles. Coverage varies.
- AgNIC: Agriculture Network Information Center
This database includes extension documents and, according to the site, other "reliable, freely-available, evaluated, digital content and quality services for agriculture, food, and natural resources information." It is a service of the National Agricultural Library and North American academic libraries.
- AVMA Animal Health Studies Database
From the site: "Veterinary clinical studies conducted to investigate novel therapies or to collect samples or information to gain further understanding of a disease provide the best scientific evidence to guide the clinical care of animals, and oftentimes, people too. For recent examples of veterinary clinical studies in the news, see here. Veterinarians and animal owners may search the site to find studies that might be relevant to their patient or pet, either for a particular condition or even to provide health data or a sample from a normal animal. "
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Don't let the name fool you! Contains citations and some full text information about animal science and other related topics.
- Entrez cross-database search
NCBI's genetics and molecular biology cross-database search page. Includes access to GenBank, BLAST, OMIA, Protein, EST, SNP, and many more tools.
- Environment Index (EBSCO, OneSearch)
"Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies."
- Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine Bibliography
"This bibliography includes books, journal articles, and other published materials about evidence-based veterinary medicine." Use I-Share to locate books or journals, or use I-Share or interlibrary loan to obtain the items you need that we do not have. The bibliography was prepared by Suzanne Whitaker, Veterinary Reference Librarian, Flower-Sprecher Veterinary Library, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York.
- Google Scholar
"Google Scholar enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research." It contains links to some full text items. Coverage varies.
- International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) Database
"A database of citations to published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals."
- OMIA Home
From the site: "Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals (OMIA) is a database of genes, inherited disorders and traits in animal species (other than human and mouse) authored by Professor Frank Nicholas" and others.
General medical database that includes citations to veterinary medicine journals. This is the public access version of MEDLINE.
In addition to searching the Web for scholarly websites, this resource also searches PubMed, ScienceDirect, and PubMed Central for scholarly article citations.
TOXNET is a group of databases with citations to articles about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and their effects on animals and humans from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Dates of coverage vary.
- Zoological Record (1945-present) - Web of Science
Citations to information about wildlife, insects, fish, reptiles, bacteria, viruses, etc. and their interactions with domestic animals. Coverage: 1978-present.
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Automotive Technology
, Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology