This is the "Home" page of the "ANS 219: Introductory Horse Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ANS 219: Introductory Horse Management   Tags: animal science, equine management, horse breeds, horse management, horses  

This is a course guide for students in ANS 219, Introductory Horse Management
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/ans219 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Interlibrary Loan
    If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
  • WorldCat  
      
    Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.

Peer-Reviewed?

See this YouTube video for visual clues to help you distinguish between a magazine article and a scholarly article.

See this Santiago Canyon Library Video for an in-depth discussion of the differences between peer-reviewed and magazine articles. 

See additional materials in the Handouts box.

 

Tools: Journal of Animal Science Style

See the the online Instructions to Authors guide for the Journal of Animal Science for information about citing resources. This information is located on pages 454-455 ( see "LITERATURE CITED GUIDELINES FOR JOURNAL OF ANIMAL SCIENCE"). 

Selected Article Databases

1. You may find more information if you use the word horses instead of equine in your searches. For example:

Horses and metabolic syndrome will retrieve more citations than equine metabolic syndrome

2. Use the database's limit to peer-reviewed journals if this option is available.

  • Peer-reviewed journal limiters may also be called Academic Journals (e.g., in CAB) or scholarly journals.
  • PubMed and Medline do not have a specific limiter for peer-reviewed articles, but you may limit to specific types of scientific studies.
  • See this Morris Library video for a discussion of peer-reviewed vs popular articles. See this YouTube video if you want to learn about visual clues to distinguish scholarly articles vs. magazine articles.
  • You may also want to see the chart created by Jennifer Horton or the handout that shows the different parts of a scholarly article or magazine article. 

3. You may want to read about your topic in a book, e.g., the Merck Veterinary Manual, to find additional search terms. Sometimes books have lists of references that may lead you to good, peer-reviewed sources.

4. If you find a good article for your topic, check the reference list for more sources. Use the Journals database or I-Share to see if we have the journal online or in print. Contact me if you need help locating the full text of an article.

 

More Search Tips

  • Break your topic into the main concepts and use connectors (and, or) for your search:

What is the treatment for laminitis in horses? --> Horses and laminitis and treatment

  • Use the word horses rather than equine to expand your search:

Equine encephalitis --> horses and encephalitis

Equine metabolic syndrome --> horses and metabolic syndrome

  • Use synonyms to expand your search and connect them with or:

Equine metabolic syndrome or equine syndrome x or peripheral Cushing syndrome or insulin dysregulation syndrome (CAB Search)

  • Link from subjects or descriptors found in article citations to find others.
  • Use limits, such as language, publication date, and publication type (e.g., scholarly journals or peer-reviewed journals, review articles).
  •  Combine searches in Search History.
  • Databases produced by the same vendor (for example, CAB, Agricola, and MEDLINE are in EBSCO) may be searched together. The OneSearch box also combines many databases.
  • Use truncation symbols if available, e.g. pest* will find pest, pests, or pesticides
  • Limit to words in the title or abstract to narrow your search
 

I-Share @ Morris Library, the library's catalog

Books and chapters in books can give you an overview on a particular topic.

Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, etc. by using the I-Share @ Morris Library catalog

You may limit your search to just SIUC, or if you have a week to ten days, search All I-Share and request that materials be sent to the library.

Try these subject searches:

  • Horse breeds
  • Horses breeding
  • Horses anatomy
  • Horses behavior
  • Horses management
  • Horses diseases
  • Horse diseases
  • Horses internal medicine

Search I-Share @ Morris Library

 

Selected Books

Cover Art
Equine Clinical Medicine, Surgery and Reproduction - Graham Munroe; Scott Weese
Call Number: SF951 .M86 2011x
ISBN: 9781840761191
Publication Date: 2011-06-13
Location: 5th Floor, Morris Library
Check Availability here.


Cover Art
Infectious Diseases of the Horse - J. H. Van de Kolk; E. J. B. Veldhuis Kroeze
Call Number: Online Book
ISBN: 1840761652
Publication Date: 2013-06-01

Cover Art
Manual of Equine Lameness - Gary M. Baxter (Editor)
Call Number: SF959.L25 M36 2011
ISBN: 9780813815466
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
Location: 5th Floor Morris Library
Check Availability here

Merck Veterinary Manual - Susan E. Aiello (Editor-in-Chief)
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
The Welfare of Horses - Natalie Waran (Editor)
Call Number: Online via the library catalog
ISBN: 9780306482151
Publication Date: 2002

Journal Title Abbreviations

The Journal of Animal Science references format uses standard ISO journal title abbreviations with periods after each abbreviated word in the title. For example, Journal of Animal Science would be abbreviated as  J. Anim. Sci. One word titles (e.g., Nature or Theriogenology) are not abbreviated. Some journal citation databases use abbreviations in the citations, but some do not.  The sources listed below may contain this information. Here is an example from the NLM Catalog: Journals Referenced in the NCBI Databases resource:

Type your title in the search box.

ISO Journal Abbreviation

Notice that the record includes in the NLM Title Abbreviation (do NOT use) and the ISO abbreviation.

The ISO abbreviation for Journal of Equine Veterinary Science is:

J. Equine Vet. Sci.

If you have any problems locating the correct abbreviation for a journal title, please let me know.

Natural Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Mary Taylor
Your JavaScript is disabled.
 

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip