- BOMB Magazine
A quarterly magazine for contemporary arts criticism (NYC-based). Includes reviews, interviews, artist profiles/portfolios, and more.
- NKA Journal of Contemporary African Art
Journal of contemporary African and African Diaspora art. Includes scholarly articles, reviews (exhibits and books), interviews, and roundtable discussions.
Contemporary art criticism and theory journal from MIT Press. Use the "Get full text from MIT Press Journals" link for the most recent issue.
- Studio Magazine
A biannual magazine of contemporary arts criticism from Studio Museum Harlem.
- X-TRA Online
An LA-based quarterly contemporary arts journal, from Project X Foundation for Art & Criticism.
- Social Media & Apps for Contemporary Artists
Recommendations for social media tools for finding national & international contemporary artists (from Maryland Institute College of Art).
- Art & Architecture Complete
Art & Architecture Complete provides access to full text for over 240 periodicals and 140 books, as well as selective coverage for over 50 publications.
A digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Downloading images requires you to create a free personal account while logged in on campus.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest.
- Oxford Art Online
Reference source on art history. Includes Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Multidisciplinary database of full text scholarly journals.
- Google Scholar
Use this link to get full text access through Morris Library.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) - Art History
Brief summaries and extensive bibliographies on a wide variety of subjects, written by experts in the field.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
- America: History and Life (EBSCO)
- Art and Architecture in Video
A collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory and practice of art, design and architecture.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art through 2008.
- CARLI Digital Collections
Established in 2006 as a repository for digital content created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI). It includes several collections of digitized photographs from the Morris Library's SCRC.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media arts.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
Search the Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) database, Resources in Education (RIE), and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal citations for over 1000 professional journals
- Kanopy Streaming Videos
A streaming video resource with a collection of over 26,000 documentary and narrative films from producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, and First Run Features.
- LexisNexis Academic Search - Legacy Interface (after 10/5/2017 see Nexis Uni)
Search over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs: National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources, as well as legal and government resources.
- Saskia Digital Image Archive
Contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections.
- Journal of Art Historiography
Out of the University of Birmingham, a free, open access electronic journal for study and practice of art historical writing. Topics include archaeology, anthropology, ethnography, as well visual studies and traditional art history.
An online peer-reviewed quarterly journal of scholarship in the humanities and visual arts, focused on theoretical frameworks for thinking about culture.
- Body, Space, and Technology Journal
A multimedia, peer-reviewed journal on intersections of technology and the arts.
- International Journal of Design
Peer-reviewed, open access journal published in Taiwan on professional and scholarly topics in art & design.
- Art History Pedagogy & Practice
Art History Pedagogy & Practice is a peer-reviewed open access e-journal devoted to scholarship of teaching and learning in art history
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.