- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier searches both popular magazines and academic journals in nearly every academic subject. It includes full text of many, but not all, of the articles.
- Accident and Incident Data (FAA)
Includes links to reports (preliminary and final data), runway incursion data and research, commercial carrier fatalities, the Aviation Safety Information Analysis and Sharing (ASIAS) databases, etc.
- Airport Cooperative Research Program
From the website: "The Airport Cooperative Research Program (ACRP) is an industry-driven, applied research program that develops near-term, practical solutions to problems faced by airport operators. ACRP is managed by the Transportation Research Board (TRB) of the National Academies and sponsored by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). The research is conducted by contractors who are selected on the basis of competitive proposals."
- Aviation Accident Database and Synopses (National Transportation Safety Board)
Contains information from 1962 to date (with full text for many reports after 1993) about civil aviation accidents and incidents in the US and its territories. The site includes a searchable database, monthly lists of accidents, datasets, investigations nearing completion, a link to the FAA Aviation Safety Information Analysis and Sharing System, and GILS record.
- Aviation Safety Information Analysis and Sharing System (ASIAS) (FAA)
Links to 9 databases, including FAA Accident/Incident Data System (AIDS), Air Registry, Aviation Safety Reporting System, Bureau of Transportation Statistics, Near Midair Collision System, NTSB Safety Recommendations to the FAA with FAA Responses, NTSB Aviation Accident and Incident Data System, Runway Safety Office Runway Incursion, and World Aircraft Summary.
- Aviation Tradescan
Location: Morris Library Basement
Call Number: HE9761.1 .A95x
This print-only index covers over 65 aviation/aerospace periodicals and journals each month. Ceased publishing in 2009. Distance learners should contact Mary Taylor or Amber Burtis (email@example.com) for assistance
- Aviation Weather Center (NOAA)
Links to METARs, TAFs, Radar, area forecasts, Satellite images, Winds/Temperatures, Icing, Prog Charts, etc.
- CompendexWeb (Engineering Village)
"Compendex is a major database for all areas of engineering. It has references to journal articles and conference proceedings, including items from Engineering Index back to the late 1800s."
- Congressional (Proquest) - formerly LexisNexis Congressional
This database provides indexing, abstracting, and some full text of U.S. congressional hearings, prints, bills, reports and documents. It also provides full text of the Federal Register (1980-), the Congressional Record (1985-), and the National Journal.
- Google Patents
Google Patents includes the patents available in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Web site. It has patents from the 1790s up to a few months ago. Google Patents has scanned the USPTO images of patents into full-text searchable pdfs.
- IATA Annual Reports (International Air Transport Association)
is an aviation trade group representing over 200 airlines. The IATA's Pressroom
included transcripts of speeches, and selected fact sheets and statistics.
- IEEE Xplore
Full-text publications back to 1988 from IEEE (originally the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (the institution of Engineering and Technology), including journals, transactions, proceedings, magazines, and standards
- INSPEC (Institute of Electrical Engineers) - ISI Web of Knowledge
A major database for electrical engineering, computer science, and physics, Inspec provides references to journal articles and conference proceedings.
- LegalTrac (SIU Law Library subscription)
LegalTrac is a database that has indexing for major law reviews and for law-related articles in other journals, newspapers and magazines. Contains some full text.
- LexisNexis Legal Research
Contains full text articles from law reviews, U.S. federal and state codes, federal and state court cases, legislation, Canadian legislation and court cases, and other international court cases.
- MarciveWeb DOCS Government Documents Index
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications July 1976 - present.
- Mechanics (FAA)
Contains links to safety advisories, aircraft and technical information, rules and regulatons, licensing, information about becoming a mechanic, etc.
- Military & Government Collection
From the site: "This database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Uses the EBSCO interface."
- NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)
"NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more."
- SocIndex with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
- USPTO Patent Database
The U.S. Patent and Trademark office's entry page to search full text and full-image patents from the United States. You must have a TIFF image viewer plug-in installed in your Web browser to view and print full image pages.
- Web of Science (in Web of Knowledge)
Web of Science covers many disciplines in depth. It includes citation searching and analysis, journal impact factor and a bibliographic management tool.