Frequently Used
- Biological Abstracts - ISI Web of Knowledge Contains citations to information about life sciences and biomedicine from 1968-present. In addition to topic searching, you may search by taxa, role of organism, methods, equipment, chemicals, etc. Morris Library also has the older print volumes.
- Environment Index"Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus. Some coverage goes back to the 1940s.
- JSTORJSTOR contains fulltext articles from *older* plant biology, aquatic sciences, biology, ecology, and environmental sciences journals. Dates of coverage vary.
- Web of KnowledgeThis collection of databases includes Web of Science, which may be used to search for cited references as well as topics. It also includes a citation manager (EndNote Web) as well as Journal Citation Reports. Covers 1985-present.
- Zoological RecordContains citations to articles published in professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings from 1978 to present. Morris Library has the print version of this index back to volume 1.
Also Try
- Academic Search PremierGeneral database with *some* full text. Dates of coverage vary.
- AGRICOLAAGRICOLA contains citations to journal articles, extension documents, government reports, books, theses, audiovisual materials, and patents back to 1970. It is a service of the U.S. National Agricultural Library.
- Annual ReviewsThe Annual Reviews site contains full-text access to many yearly life sciences reviews, including: Plant Biology; Phytopathology; Ecology, Evolution & Systematics; Genetics; and Marine Science. Dates of coverage vary.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries AbstractsASFA contains citations to journal articles, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.
- BioOneBioOne contains full text bioscience research journals.
- CAB AbstractsContains citations to journal articles, monographs, conference proceedings, books, annual reports etc. in all agricultural fields as well as forestry, nutrition, veterinary medicine, and biological information. Coverage: 1990-present.
- Entrez cross-database searchSearch across GenBank, BLAST, Human Genome, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals, Protein, SNP, and other NCBI databases.
- Google ScholarGeneral search engine that includes citations to journal articles and freely available full text items. Dates of coverage vary.
- JSTORJSTOR contains fulltext articles from *older* plant biology, aquatic sciences, biology, ecology, and environmental sciences journals. Dates of coverage vary.
- Oceanic AbstractsThis database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Coverage: 1981-present.
- SciFinder Scholar (Web Version)SciFinder Scholar includes information about biochemistry and genetics. This link to the registration form must be accessed from a workstation on campus or off campus via the VPN client. Use an SIU email address to register. Coverage: mostly 1907-present.
- ScitopiaScitopia includes indexing of back to 1665 for seven peer-reviewed journals of the UK's Royal Society, including Proceedings of the Royal Society of London, and provides access to our full-text subscriptions for some of these journals.
- TOXNETTOXNET is a group of databases with citations to articles about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, pesticides, and plants from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It includes links to the ALTBIB (animal testing alternatives) and Enviro-Health databases.
- TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image LibraryContains full text of U.S. federal documents dated prior to 1975. Collections so far include Bureau of Mines, National Standards, and Atomic Energy Commission materials, with more to come.
- Turfgrass Information FileThe Turfgrass Information File contains citation to articles and educational materials. It is a service of the Turfgrass Information Center of Michigan State University Libraries. Dates of coverage vary.
Natural Sciences Librarian |
Your JavaScript is disabled. Contact Info Morris Library Southern Illinois University Carbondale, IL (618) 453-5492 Office hours: Mondays, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Thursdays: 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. (except breaks) Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
