Last Updated: Aug 6, 2014
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-2663Send Email
- Environment Index
"Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. Over 500 titles have ongoing coverage. The product has an Environment thesaurus that will assist users in research." Uses the EBSCO interface.
- CompendexWeb (Engineering Village)
"Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Compendex contains over 9 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications."
"GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well. " - from publisher.
- American Concrete Institute (ACI) Special Publications
ACI Technical committees periodically publish papers from convention sessions or a symposium in a Special Publication. Use the pull down menu under "All ACI Symposium Publications" to select a specific publication.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains more than 440,000 thousand entries surveying over seven hundred American and international journals. These include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Avery Index also contains references to more than thirteen thousand obituary citations thereby providing architects, architectural historians, and researchers with an excellent source of biographical and professional information about architects.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
"Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 730 periodicals."
- GeoRef (Ovid)
American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 2.2 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933.
Papers presented at conferences (multidisciplinary). Uses the FirstSearch interface.
Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Covarage dates: 1993-present. Uses the FirstSearch interface.
- Water Resources Abstracts
Water Resources Abstracts provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications. This database, which concentrates on water supply and water treatment, complements the Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts database, ASFA, where there is greater coverage of the marine environment and biological material.
- Web of Science
ISI Web of Science, an integrated Web-based platform, provides high-quality content and the tools to access, analyze, and manage research information. These tools include:Cross-product searching, Links to full text, Citation alerts, Table of contents alerts, Personal journal lists,and Personal bibliographic management.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.