Last Updated: Jan 2, 2013
URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/computer_science
Print Guide
- ACM Digital Library
ACM Digital Library includes citations and full text from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) articles and conference proceedings.
- Compendex (Engineering Village)
Compendex is a major database for engineering, including computer engineering. It has references to journal articles and conference proceedings, including items from Engineering Index back to the late 1800s.
- IEEE Xplore
Full-text publications back to 1988 from IEEE (originally the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (the institution of Engineering and Technology), including journals, transactions, proceedings, magazines, and standards.
- Inspec
A major database for computer science, electrical engineering, and physics, Inspec provides references to journal articles and conference proceedings.
- Web of Knowledge
On Web of Knowledge, Morris Library has Web of Science, a multidisciplinary citation index, as well as Medline, Biological Abstracts, Zoological Record and Inspec. If you want to use just one of these databases, click on the "Select Database" tab. It also includes citation searching and analysis, journal impact factor and a bibliographic management tool.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier searches both popular magazines and academic journals in nearly every academic subject. It includes full text of many, but not all, of the articles.
- ACM Digital Library
ACM Digital Library includes citations and full text from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) articles and conference proceedings.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Primarily a business database, Business Source Complete can be useful for topics in information systems.
- CiteSeer
CiteSeer is a free digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeer is no longer being updated. For new articles, use CiteSeerX.
- CiteSeerX
CiteSeerX is a free digital library and search engine mainly for computer science. It includes Autonomous Citation Indexing to track citations to works. The "View or Download" link provides access to free preprints or reprints when available.
- Compendex (Engineering Village)
Compendex is a major database for engineering, including computer engineering. It has references to journal articles and conference proceedings, including items from Engineering Index back to the late 1800s.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete can be used to find articles in all areas of engineering and technology. It is especially good for finding articles trade publications and popular science magazines.
- DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
DBLP is a free resource that indexes the bibliographic information from major computer science journals and conference proceedings.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts from doctoral dissertations and masters theses from many universities, mostly in North America, can be found in Dissertation and Theses Abstracts. It includes complete dissertations and theses produced by SIUC graduates in recent years.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a free resource that searches across disciplines for materials, including published articles, unpublished preprints, theses, books, preprints, and technical reports.
- IEEE Xplore
Full-text publications back to 1988 from IEEE (originally the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (the institution of Engineering and Technology), including journals, transactions, proceedings, magazines, and standards
- Inspec
A major database for computer science, electrical engineering, and physics, Inspec provides references to journal articles and conference proceedings.
- MathSciNet
Primarily a mathematics database, MathSciNet is useful for computer science topics that are heavily mathematical such as algorithms, graph theory, or numerical analysis.
- PapersFirst
PapersFirst indexes papers published in conference proceedings in many different subject areas.
- Web of Knowledge
On Web of Knowledge, Morris Library has Web of Science, a multidisciplinary citation index, as well as Medline, Biological Abstracts, Zoological Record and Inspec. If you want to use just one of these databases, click on the "Select Database" tab. It also includes citation searching and analysis, journal impact factor and a bibliographic management tool.
- Web of Science (Citation Indexes)
Multidisciplinary database that makes connections between publications, the works that they cite, and the works that cite them.
 We're Here to Help! Your JavaScript is disabled. |