Morris Library provides access to a number of ebooks from various publishers. Generally these ebooks can be found by searching I-Share. In most cases, borrowing ebooks from other libraries is not allowed by the ebook license agreements. The ebook collection listed on this page are for Southern Illinois University Carbondale students, faculty and staff use.
Searches many of the following resources for e-books. (Note: If you are looking for eBooks, switch the catalog to SIUC only. Neglecting to do so will display eBooks owned by other libraries in the I-Share system that are only available to people affiliated with those libraries.)
- Cambridge Histories Online
Contains over 260 volumes published since 1960 and offers vastly improved accessibility to the print editions published.
- Credo Reference
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans digital edition (1639-1800)
A collection of searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera published between 1639-1800.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Searches thousands of books, pamphlets and broadsides from 1639 - 1819 published in or related to America.
- Early English Books Online
Searches thousands of books from the period 1475 - 1700. Books are presented as full page images.
- EBL ebooks (see link under Ebook Central)
EBL provides access to thousands of ebooks from premier international academic publishers. Access to this collection is provided by CARLI.
- Ebook Central (Proquest)
Ebook Central (fomerly EBL) provides access to thousands of ebooks from premier international academic publishers. You can search the full text of the entire collection; access ebooks online; download ebooks to computers, tablets, and mobile devices; create a personalized bookshelf; create bookmarks and add notes; and use the read aloud feature for all titles. Many titles are available in ePub and PDF. Access to this collection is provided by CARLI. Use the EBL user guide
for more info.
- EBSCOhost ebook Collection
Searches a small selection of e-books formerly hosted on the Netlibrary platform.
- Elsevier eBooks
Several reference books and ebooks published by Elsevier, including Methods in Enzymology, are subscribed to by Morris Library.
- Google Books
Searches millions of books. Those that are in the public domain may be downloaded for free.
- Literature Online (LION)
Includes more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 326 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
- Loeb Classical Library
This database presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Searches a large collection of e-books. You must create a free account to access some features.
- Oxford Scholarship Online
A collection of ebooks published by Oxford University Press. Morris Library provides access to titles belonging to two subject categories, Classical Studies and Philosophy.
- Sabin Americana 1500-1926
Searches books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
- Sage eReference
- SpringerLink Books
A collection of ebooks published in English with copyright dates between 2005-2015 by Springer, including many ebooks in the Lecture Notes in Mathematics and theLecture Notes in Computer Science series as well as many medical ebooks. Morris Library has paid for access to the titles that appear with a green box next to them.
- Wright American Fiction 1851-1875
Searches over 2,800 volumes of fiction published between 1851 and 1875.