This is the "Resources" page of the "Criminology and Criminal Justice Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminology and Criminal Justice Research Guide   Tags: ccj, criminal justice, criminology  

Last Updated: Sep 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.siu.edu/criminology Print Guide RSS Updates
Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Social Sciences Librarian

 

Search I-Share @ Morris Library, the library's catalog

Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.

Search I-Share @ Morris Library

 

OpenSIUC

Streaming Video

  • Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video  
      
    A collection of documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety.

Key Databases

  • SocIndex with Full Text  
      
    Provides comprehensive coverage of the field of sociology including criminology and criminal justice.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    This database indexes scholarly literature in the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    "Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications."
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service
    NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index  
      
    A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.

Also Try

  • Congressional (Proquest)  
      
    This database provides indexing, abstracting, and some full text of U.S. congressional hearings, prints, bills, reports and documents. It also provides full text of the Federal Register (1980-), the Congressional Record (1985-), and the National Journal.
  • Criminal Justice DataNet
    CJ DataNet is an Internet clearinghouse of criminal justice data for the State of Illinois.
  • HeinOnline - Law Library Subscription
    HeinOnline provides online access to historical legal periodical content as well as a variety of other legal materials.
  • Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Science Research (ICPSR)  
      
    "The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects."
  • LegalTrac (SIU Law Library subscription)  
      
    LegalTrac is a database that has indexing for major law reviews and for law-related articles in other journals, newspapers and magazines. Includes full text for some publications.
  • LexisNexis Academic Search  
      
    LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources,case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and much more.
  • Proquest Newsstand  
      
    The core of the database includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post
 

Web Resources

Federal and State Agencies Websites:

National Institute of Justice (http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/nij/)

NIJ is the research, development, and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice and is dedicated to researching crime control and justice issues. NIJ provides objective, independent, evidence-based knowledge and tools to meet the challenges of crime and justice, particularly at the State and local levels.

National Institute of Corrections (http://www.nicic.org/)

The National Institute of Corrections (NIC) is an agency within the U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons. They provide training, technical assistance, information services, and policy/program development assistance to federal, state, and local corrections agencies.

U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics (http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/)

The mission of the Bureau of Justice Statistics is to collect, analyze, publish and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. Great site for a variety of statistics.

U.S. Department of Homeland Security (www.dhs.gov/)

The Department of Homeland Security is to lead the unified national effort to secure the country and preserve our freedoms, as well as prepare for and respond to all hazards and disasters.

U.S. Department of Justice (http://www.usdoj.gov)

DOJ's mission is to enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans.

U.S. Federal Bureau of Investigations (http://www.fbi.gov/)

The mission of the FBI is to protect and defend the United States against terrorist and foreign intelligence threats, to uphold and enforce the criminal laws of the United States, and to provide leadership and criminal justice services to federal, state, municipal, and international agencies and partners.

U.S. Marshals Service (http://www.usdoj.gov/marshals/)

The United States Marshals Service is the oldest and most versatile federal law enforcement agency. They provide judicial security, conduct fugitive investigations, carry out special missions, maintain the witness security program, manage the Justice Prisoner and Alien Transportation System, house federal detainees, and manage the asset forfeiture program.

U.S. Secret Service (http://www.treas.gov/usss/)

The United States Secret Service is a federal law enforcement agency established in 1865. Its mission is to safeguard the nation's financial infrastructure and payment systems to preserve the integrity of the economy, and to protect national leaders, visiting heads of state and government, designated sites, and National Special Security Events.

Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority (http://www.icjia.state.il.us/public/)

This state agency is dedicated to improving the administration of justice by identifying critical issues facing the criminal justice system in Illinois, and to proposed and evaluated policies, programs, and legislation that address those issues. The Authority does it work through information systems and technology, research and analysis, policy and planning, and grants administration.

Illinois Department of Corrections (http://www.idoc.state.il.us/)

The mission of the Department of Corrections is to protect the public from criminal offenders through a system of incarceration and supervision which securely segregates offenders from society, assures offenders of their constitutional rights and maintains programs to enhance the success of offenders' reentry into society.

Criminal Justice and Risk Factor Datasets (http://www.icjia.org/public/sac/index.cfm?metasection=forms&metapage=raw)

An Internet clearinghouse of criminal justice data for the State of Illinois. The Authority collects, maintains and updates a variety of criminal justice data to support its research and evaluation efforts. These data can be used to research broad issues facing the criminal justice system or to simply examine crime problems in a specific Illinois city, county or regional area.

Other Websites:

American Society of Criminology (http://www.asc41.com/)

The American Society of Criminology is an international organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency.

Center on Juvenile & Criminal Justice (http://www.cjcj.org)

The Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice (CJCJ) is a nonprofit nonpartisan organization promoting a balanced and humane criminal justice system through the provision of direct services, technical assistance, and policy analysis.

Criminal Justice Policy Foundation (http://www.cjpf.org/)

The Criminal Justice Policy Foundation is a private, non-profit educational organization that promotes solutions to the problems facing the criminal justice system.

Death Penalty Information Center (http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/)

The Death Penalty Information Center is a non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment. The Center was founded in 1990 and prepares in-depth reports, issues press releases, conducts briefings for journalists, and serves as a resource to those working on this issue.

Justice Technology Information Network (http://www.nlectc.org/)

Originally created in 1994 as a component of the National Institute of Justice's (NIJ's) Office of Science and Technology, the National Law Enforcement and Corrections Technology Center (NLECTC) system serves as an "honest broker" offering support, research findings, and technological expertise to help State and local law enforcement, corrections, and other criminal justice personnel perform their duties more safely and efficiently.

National Council on Crime and Delinquency (http://www.ncja.org/)

The National Council on Crime and Delinquency, founded in 1907, is a nonprofit organization that promotes effective, humane, fair, and economically sound solutions to family, community, and justice problems. NCCD conducts research, promotes reform initiatives, and seeks to work with individuals, public and private organizations, and the media to prevent and reduce crime and delinquency.

National Criminal Justice Association (http://www.ncja.org/)

The NCJA represents state, tribal and local governments on crime prevention and crime control issues.

Prison Policy Initiative (http://www.prisonpolicy.org/)

The Prison Policy Initiative is a non-profit, non-partisan group that documents the impact of mass incarceration on individuals, communities, and the national welfare. It produces research to empower the public to participate in creating better criminal justice policy.

Sentencing Project (http://www.sentencingproject.org/)

The Sentencing Project is a national organization working for a fair and effective criminal justice system by promoting reforms in sentencing law and practice, and alternatives to incarceration. It publishes policy reports, briefing sheets, and educational materials on a wide range of criminal justice issues.

Can't find it at Morris?

Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Interlibrary Loan
    If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
  • WorldCat  
      
    Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.

Dissertations/Theses

For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.

Contact Morris

Morris Library
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901
Information Desk: (618) 453-2818
Administrative Office: (618) 453-2522
Circulation Desk: (618) 453-1455

Web Administrator

Copyright

© 2014 SIU Board of Trustees

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip