A guide to research in Education.
Last Updated: Feb 26, 2014
- EBSCOhost Research Databases
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles avaialble across the web. An easy path to check if an author has been cited by other researchers.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
EBSCO's ERIC allows you to also select other EBSCO databases to search simultaneously. ERIC contains more than 1,250,000 records and links to full-text documents from the Educational Resource Information Center of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes lesson plans.
- Education Abstracts
Education Abstracts provides indexing and abstracting for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks. It covers PK-12 education, adult education, continuing education, higher education, school administration, literacy standards, teaching methods and much more.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4, 650 periodicals, including more than 3, 600 peer-reviewed journals. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
PsychINFO contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage from 1887-present includes international material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals
- Credo Reference
Credo contains dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject specific titles covering every topic including elementary and secondary education, media, teaching and learning.
- OneSearch Beta
Search for books, articles, and other resources available through Morris Library through a Google-type search box.
- Education in Video
The first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers.
- Professional Development Collection
Professional Development is designed for professional educators and provides full text access to nearly 520 specialized education journals and reports.
- Journal Citation Reports
A Thompson-Reuters database that provides the Impact Factor and other ratings of quality of peer-reviewed journals. Journals are grouped within Science, Social Sciences, and Humanities categories and subdivided into narrower disciplines. Can be searched by individual journal title as well.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
MMY, produced by the Buros Institute, contains descriptive information and full text reviews of standardized tests as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks." Print copies of older editions: BF176.M45
Search All 50 EBSCO databases at once with this box
- Counseling and Therapy in Video I & II & III
The only online training resource that lets researchers and students watch actual therapy sessions. Volume I includes more than 400 hours of training videos, reenactments, and actual therapy sessions conducted by psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers. Volume II focuses on child therapy, geriatric therapy, family therapy, culturally-sensative therapy and cognitive-behavioral therapy. Wolume II includes training videos, reenactments, and actual therapy sessions conducted by renowned counselors, psychologists, psychiatrists, and clinicians. Volume III presents a firm grounding in the theoretical modalities of counseling and psychotherapy, while expanding into new and emerging areas such as social media, veterans, cyber-bullying, mindfulness, and neuroscience.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Southern Illinois University Carbondale
This database has Doctoral dissertations and Master's theses produced by Southern Illinois University Carbondale students.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
A Proquest database of dissertations from many universities. Most records include abstracts; some provide full text or 11 page previews. Dissertations can be borrowed using the interlibrary loan form.
- Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
The encyclopedia succinctly defines more than 600 concepts.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (ie. tests, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales etc) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences and organizational behavior.
Full-text for older journals in multiple disciplines.
- Medline (EBSCO)
MEDLINE can be used to search for journal articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including psychiatry.
- National Center for Education Statistics
U.S.Department of Education database of educational statistics for the United States and other nations.
- SocIndex with Full Text
Strong holdings in sociology/socialwork but useful in researching: Higher Education, Universities & Colleges.
- SocIndex with Full Text
While it is a major sociology database, SocINDEX is useful for many areas of psychology, especially social psychology.
- Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for many popular teacher and administration journals and magazines on such topics as Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedogogical Research etc
- Web of Science
This collection of databases may be used to search for cited references as well as topics. It also includes a citation manager (EndNote Web) as well as Journal Citation Reports. Covers 1985-present.