- African American Poetry
"African American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar, the first African American poet to achieve national success and recognition."
- Book Review Digest Plus
"Book Review Digest is a reference database that provides review excerpts and book summaries for current English-language fiction and non-fiction books for all ages. Abstracting and indexing are included for more than 109 periodicals.
- Books in Print
"A bibliographic database with more than 5 million in-print, out-of-print, forthcoming, book,audio book, and video titles."
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
"British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters..."
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Children's Literature reviewers read and critically review more than 4,000 books annually. Literature reviewers include book authors, librarians, writers and editors, teachers, children's literature specialists and physicians.
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism
Critical analysis and biographical information on over 100,000 authors, published between 1973, vol. 1 to 2012, vol. 324.
- Dewey: Collected works
This database is based on the 37-volume printed edition The Collected Works of John Dewey, 1882-1953, published by Southern Illinois University Press, 1967-1990 (edited by Jo Ann Boydston).
- Dewey: Correspondence
"The Correspondence of John Dewey is a comprehensive electronic edition of letters to, from, and about John Dewey. The Dewey correspondence project comprises three intertwined phases: Volume 1: 1871-1918, Volume 2: 1919-1939, and Volume 3: 1940-1953."
- Early American Imprint Collection - Evans (Text Creation Partnership)
"Evans is the most significant collection of titles relating to the history of seventeenth and eighteenth century America, and the Text creation partnership seeks to create enduring digital text editions of the most frequently studied works."
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans digital edition (1639-1800)
"Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS)."
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and now supplemented by thousands of new items, allows students and scholars to explore the development of the American nation as never before. Designed for researchers of varying skill levels, the intuitive interface of this long-awaited digital edition offers both simple and advanced searching as well as in-depth browsing within sixteen carefully indexed subject categories."
- Early English Books Online
"From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars - from their desktop! - in many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science."
- Early English Books Online - Text Creation Partnership
The Text Creation Partnership creates standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of early print books. They transcribe and mark up the text from the millions of page images in ProQuest's Early English Books Online, Gale Cengage's Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Readex's Evans Early American Imprints.
- EBSCOhost ebook Collection
- Humanities International Complete
"Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index (over 1.6 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases." Uses the EBSCO interface.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
"This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers."
- Middle English Compendium
The Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. Over 7,100 titles are included; of these, over 4,400 are currently indexed.
- Nineteenth [19th] Century MasterFile
A vast "Index of Indexes", and is the largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. Brings together over 60 subject indexes to periodicals, newspapers, books, US Congressional record, US and UK Government documents, and US Patents
- NoveList K-8 Plus
NoveList K-8 allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom. The NoveList Learning Center provides a complete introduction to the product and shows you how to use NoveList to meet the reading needs of your students. You can access the Learning Center by clicking on its link in the left hand column of your screen. Uses the EBSCO interface.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
The national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Includes more than 58,600 biographies.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
"This award-winning Encyclopedia surveys the vibrant terrain of American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day...
- Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
The Encyclopedia provides comprehensive coverage of literature from the Abbey Theatre to Israel Zangwill, covering the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). It includes substantial accounts of individual authors (e.g., Spenser, Pope, Austen) and detailed histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions, whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant (e.g., The Stationers' Company, the sonnet, the ‘School of Night, ’ or the Sublime)
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Written by an international roster of more than 300 authors, the Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. With a global perspective that pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field, it includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes
- Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
- Sabin Americana 1500-1926
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
- SurLaLune Fairy Tales
Dedicated to the study of fairy tales, this website includes in depth studies of 45 fairy tales, over 1,400 illustrations, an illustrator index, full-text articles on the study of fairy tales, activities for school and home, links to fairy tales around the world, and even a discussion board.
- Wright American Fiction 1851-1875
This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are over 2,500 volumes included.