A tutorial on evidence-based practice.
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2012
These resources are available to SIUC faculty, staff, and students:
- Medline (EBSCO)
Enter your search query. Under the “Limits” section select “Systematic Reviews” under “Subject Subsets.”
Click on “Clinical Queries” in the middle of the screen; select “Find Systematic Reviews” and enter your search query.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Includes a collection of "Evidence Based Care Sheets." To limit your CINAHL search to the best evidence-producing studies: Use the "Limits" section to limit to "Clinical Queries" or "Evidence Based Practice."
Enter your search query. Under the “Limits” section select “Systematic Review” under “Methodology.”
- Evidence-based Tool
The Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (US Department of Health and Human Services) coordinates, supports, and reports on all Federal quality improvement efforts and health services research. Links to freely available evidence reports and technology assessments on topics relevant to clinical, social science/behavioral, economic, and other health care organization and delivery issues.
- Cochrane Library
Search for articles in more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals. World's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
DARE contains abstracts of reviews of the effects of interventions used in health and social care. Contains over 6,000 abstracts of quality-assessed and critically appraised systematic reviews, including all Cochrane reviews and protocols.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly.
- Trip Database
Search engine for Evidence Based Medicine (EBM). Searches multiple sites at the same time.
nce-Based Practice Tutorial
“the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence
in making decisions about the care of individual patients.” *
“integration of individual clinical expertise, best available systematically reviewed evidence from research and relevant population data with patient preferences at the time of clinical decision-making.” *
* Sackett DL, Rosenberg WMC, Gray JAM, Haynes RB, Richardson WS. Evidence based medicine: what it is and what it isn't. BMJ. 1996 Jan 13; 312 (7023): 71-2.
Evidence-Based Practice Tutorial
Step 1: FORMULATE an answerable question
Step 2: SEARCH for the best evidence using the keywords from your question
Step 3: ASSESS the validity and usefulness of the search results
Step 4: APPLY the evidence
Southern Illinois University
, Dental Sciences
, Health Care Mgmt
, Health Ed
, Mortuary Science
, Physical Therapy
, Physician Assistant
, Radiologic Sciences
, Art and Design