- CAB Abstracts (EBSCO)
CAB Abstracts contains citations to journal articles, monographs, books, conference proceedings, etc., in all agricultural fields as well as forestry and life sciences. It includes coverage from 1990 to present.
- AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
AGRICOLA contains citations to journal articles, extension documents, government reports, books, theses, audiovisual materials, and patents back to 1970. It includes information about U.S. parks and recreation.
- Web of Knowledge
This collection of databases includes Web of Science, which may be used to search for cited references as well as topics. It also includes Biological Abstracts, Zoological Record, MEDLINE, Inspec, and a citation manager (EndNote Web) as well as Journal Citation Reports. Dates of coverage vary.
- Environment Index (EBSCO)
From the database: "Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies."
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Contains coverage of the commercial aspects of forestry, including the forest products industry. This database is also useful for general searches about business management practices. Dates of coverage vary.
- EconLit (EBSCO)
Indexes economics of forestry articles.
- AGRIS :: International Information System for the Agricultural Sciences and Technology
This FAO database contains citations for reports and scholarly journals. Contains some full text documents.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
General database with *some* full text. Dates of coverage vary.
- AgNIC: Agriculture Network Information Center
This database includes extension documents and other "reliable, freely-available, evaluated, digital content and quality services for agriculture, food, and natural resources information. (from the site)" It includes forestry information: the University of Minnesota's Forestry AgNIC
is part of the database. (Their resources may be searched separately.)
- Annual Reviews
The Annual Reviews site contains full-text access to many yearly life sciences reviews, including: Plant Biology; Phytopathology; Ecology, Evolution & Systematics; and Genetics. Dates of coverage vary.
- Biological Abstracts - ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains citations to information about life sciences and biomedicine from 1968-present. In addition to topic searching, you may search by taxa, role of organism, methods, equipment, chemicals, etc. Morris Library also has the older print volumes.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO)
Don't let the name fool you! Contains citations and *some* full text information about forestry, soils, and other related topics. Dates of coverage vary.
- Environment Index (EBSCO)
"Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus." Some coverage goes back to the 1940s.
- Forest History Society: Environmental History Bibliography
From the site: "For over 50 years the Forest History Society (FHS) has monitored the world of publishing for items written as history and dealing with the utilization, management, and appreciation of forest-related resources... The Bibliography contains over 40,000 annotated citations to books, articles, and dissertations published from 1633 to the present and is updated online quarterly."
GEOREF contains citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and theses, about soils and other geological sciences, with coverage back to 1966. It includes coverage of the hydrology literature.
- Google Scholar
General search engine that includes citations to journal articles and freely available full text items. Dates of coverage vary.
GreenFILE indexes popular and scholarly journals, reports, and government documents about the human impact on the environment. It includes citations to agriculture, education, health, law, and technology materials. Dates of coverage vary.
JSTOR contains fulltext articles from *older* plant biology, aquatic sciences, biology, ecology, and environmental sciences journals. Dates of coverage vary.
- Social Sciences in Forestry
From the site: "This database indexes publications in 41 subject areas relating the social sciences to forestry. among them are: legislation, policy and planning, management, economic development, investment and finance...Database produced by the U of Minnesota Forestry Library." Use I-Share @ Morris Library
to see if we have the materials. If not, use our Interlibrary Loan form to request items at no charge.
- State of the World's Forests 2014 (UN Food and Agriculture Organization)
From the site: "The State of the World's Forests reports on the status of forests, recent major policy and institutional developments and key issues concerning the forest sector. It makes current, reliable and policy-relevant information widely available to facilitate informed discussion and decision-making with regard to the world's forests."
- Treesearch: U.S. Forest Service Research Publications
Contains citations and some full text of US Forest Services publications. From the website:"All Treesearch publications were written or produced by Forest Service personnel and are in the public domain."
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Human Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology