A guide to research in Journalism.
Last Updated: Jul 11, 2014
- Academic Search Complete
"Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
- LexisNexis Academic Search
"LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs:...
"NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues."
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
"Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media...
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers can be used to simultaneously search the different digitized newspapers that Morris Library obtains through ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), The Chicago Defender (1905-1975), The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1993), and The New York Times (1851-2007).
- Business Source Complete
- In Media Res: A MediaCommons Project
In Media Res is an open access, collaborative, multi-modal forum for media scholarship. It's goal is to promote an online dialogue amongst scholars and the public about contemporary approaches to studying media.
Each weekday, a different scholar curates a 30-second to 3-minute video clip/visual image slideshow accompanied by a 300-350-word impressionistic response.
- Basic Legal Research (Lexis Nexis)
This is not the full Lexis-Nexis legal research product, but it does have good coverage of law reviews, federal and state cases, case law, Federal and state codes and regulations, tax laws, Canadian legislative materials, European Union laws.
- Business Source Complete
"Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content.." Uses EBSCOhost interface
- Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
"The Chicago Defender (1905-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue."
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1990)
This is a full-text searchable database of Chicago Tribune issues from 1849 to 1989. It includes digital reproductions of newspaper pages, including images.
- Chicago Tribune (1989-present)
The Chicago Tribune covers international and national news with 20 bureaus around the world.
- Chronicle of Higher Education
...The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as an online CV's, salary databases, and more."
- Communication Abstracts
"Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale...
- Congressional (Proquest)
Provides indexing and abstracting for congressional hearings, prints, bills, reports and documents. It also provides full text access to congressional bills and resolutions (from 1989), reports and documents, provides bibliographic information to congressional hearings, and biographical and voting information for members of Congress.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
"This database includes more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses...
- ERIC (EBSCO)
"The best index for searching the Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) database..."
- Ethnic NewsWatch
"An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. The database begins its coverage in 1960."
"Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.)."
- MarciveWeb DOCS Government Documents Index
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications July 1976 - present.
- New York Times (1851 - 2009)
This database includes full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times starting with the first issue of the publication. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page of every issue in downloadable PDF.
- News (Lexis Nexis)
Lexis Nexis News provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including...
- Newspaper Source and Regional Business News
Newspaper Source provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including...
- Saskia Digital Image Archive
Contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections.
- SocIndex with Full Text
Comprehensive coverage of sociology from 1300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Full text for 547 books and monographs, 6,711 conference papers.
Morris Library Room 260CSend Email
, Architectural Studies
, Art & Design
, Cinema and Photography
, Fashion Design and Merchandising
, Interior Design
, Digital Media
, Speech Communication
No librarians available to chat.
Get help using email, phone, or in-person.
- Student Press Law Center
"The Student Press Law Center is an advocate for student First Amendment rights, for freedom of online speech, and for open government on campus." The SPLC provides help with FOIA requests, reporting censorship, determining fair use of FERPA, and legal assistance.