Last Updated: Aug 6, 2014
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-2663Send Email
- Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
The electronic version of a three-volume print encyclopedia, the Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics gives accessible overviews of over 500 topics in measurement and statistics.
- Lecture Notes in Mathematics
A series of over a thousand books in mathematics back to 1964, Lecture Notes in Mathematics includes research monographs, lecture notes, and summer schools or intensive courses.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete searches both popular magazines and academic journals in nearly every academic subject. It includes full text of many, but not all, of the articles.
- ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library is useful for mathematics topics that overlap with computer science. It includes citations and full text from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) articles and conference proceedings.
ArticleFirst identifies articles from more than 16,000 publications across many subject areas.
arXiv is a free e-print service for physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. It includes both preprints of unpublished works and postprints of published works.
- CompendexWeb (Engineering Village)
Primarily an engineering database, Compendex can be useful for topics in applied math.
- Current Index to Statistics (to 2000)
Free version of Current Index to Statistics. Articles found in the free version are not current because this free sample only goes to the year 2000.
- Dissertations and Theses Abstracts
Abstracts from doctoral dissertations and masters theses from many universities, mostly in North America, can be found in Dissertation and Theses Abstracts. It includes complete dissertations and theses produced by SIUC graduates in recent years.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
An important database for education, ERIC is a good place to look for articles and other materials in mathematics education. ERIC has over 1.2 million bibliographic records compiled by the U.S. Department of Education.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a free resource that searches across disciplines for materials, including published articles, unpublished preprints, theses, books, preprints, and technical reports.
- INSPEC (Institute of Electrical Engineers) - Web of Science
Inspec can be useful for applied mathematics topics. It is major database for computer science, electrical engineering, and physics and provides references to journal articles and conference proceedings.
- Jahrbuch Project -- Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik (also known as Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics or ERAM)
The Jahrbuch Project is a free index of the most important mathematical publications from 1868 -1942. It includes links to digitized copies some of the publications.
JSTOR has complete online copies of older issues of many key journals across many subject areas. JSTOR does NOT include recent issues of journals.
- Math/Sci/Net (Mathematical Reviews on the Web)
MathSciNet is a major database for finding mathematics research literature back to 1940. It has Mathematical Reviews' signed reviews of mathematics publications plus bibliographic information and abstracts for additional publications not reviewed.
- Web of Science
ISI Web of Science, an integrated Web-based platform, provides high-quality content and the tools to access, analyze, and manage research information. These tools include:Cross-product searching, Links to full text, Citation alerts, Table of contents alerts, Personal journal lists,and Personal bibliographic management.
- Web of Science Core Collection (Citation indexes)
Multidisciplinary database that makes connections between publications, the works that they cite, and the works that cite them.
- Zentralblatt MATH (ZMATH)
Zentralblatt is a strong database for finding mathematics literature. Link leads to a free sample of this database that only returns three results per search.