A guide to research in Music.
Sarah Prindle, Humanities & Fine Arts Librarian
Morris Library Room 260C
- Classical Music in Video
This collection contains 1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video—approximately 1,500 performances in all.
- Grove Music Online
Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music.
- Harvard Dictionary of Music
Includes definitions of musical terms, entries for all the styles and forms in Western music, and descriptions of instruments.
A database of scholarly journal backfiles.
- Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is an online classical music library offering streaming access to more than 86,420 CDs. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogs plus the complete catalogs or selected titles from other classical, jazz and world music labels.
- Naxos Music Library Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz offers a mix of selections of jazz legends and contemporary jazz.
- Opera in Video
Opera in Video will contain five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
- Oxford History of Western Music
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. Since its original publication in print Taruskin’s landmark study has received universal acclaim and numerous awards
- Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. It includes the Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) Abstracts of Music Literature contains records in 100 languages; entries include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English.
- RISM (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales)
Searchable online index of 850,000 records, mostly for music manuscripts.
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. If you find a resource in WorldCat, check in I-Share to see if Morris Library owns a copy. If not, try Interlibrary Loan.
- Google Scholar
- RIdIM (Association Répertoire International d'Iconographie Musicale)
From the website: "The RIdIM database is designed to facilitate discovery of music iconography images by registered researchers, and the description of such images by registered cataloguers. The database is web-based and platform independent, and access will be free of charge to scholars affiliated with academic institutions, galleries, museums, etc., as well as independent researchers."
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
"Journal article citations and article references."
- ERIC (Ovid)
"ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), is an information system sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education that collects, creates, and distributes the U.S. national bibliographic database."
Includes several databases, among them WorldCat and ArticleFirst.
- International Music Score Library Project
IMSLP has created a music library to provide music scores free of charge to anyone with internet access, with several other projects in planning. IMSLP is also entirely collaborative, and all contributions are greatly welcome.
**PLEASE check the info tab to see important copyright info
- Music Treasures Consortium
Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship.
- OmniFile Full Text Select (Wilson)
OmnFile Full Text Select is a multidisciplinary database providing full text with every entry from more than 1,600 publications.
- The Full English
A digital archive of approximately 44,000 records and 58,400 digitized images, all available freely online, documenting folk music culture in England during the early 20th century. Launched by the English Folk Dance and Song Society’s (http://www.efdss.org/) Vaughan Williams Memorial Library (http://www.vwml.org/).
- Open Music Library (BETA)
Search journal articles, scores, books, and media, both subscription and free on the open web. In BETA as of fall 2016, with content from the national libraries of Britain, Denmark, France, Norway, Poland, and Spain.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.