A guide to research in Paralegal Studies.
Last Updated: Aug 6, 2014
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
- HeinOnline - Law Library Subscription
HeinOnline provides online access to historical legal periodical content as well as a variety of other legal materials.
- LexisNexis Academic Search
LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources,case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and much more.
- Congressional (ProQuest)
This database provides indexing, abstracting, and some full text of U.S. congressional hearings, prints, bills, reports and documents. It also provides full text of the Federal Register (1980-), the Congressional Record (1985-), and the National Journal.
- LegalTrac (SIU Law Library subscription)
LegalTrac is a database that has indexing for major law reviews and for law-related articles in other journals, newspapers and magazines. Includes full text for some publications.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service
NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
- Academic Search Complete
"Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications."
- United States Supreme Court
- GPO Access
Full text of the U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, Federal Register, presidential materials, full text of congressional bills, etc.
- Illinois Supreme Court
- Illinois General Assembly
Full text of current Illinois bills and resolutions, bill status, voting records, public acts, Illinois Compiled Statutes, Illinois Constitution, information about the House and Senate, rules and regulations, legislative reports, etc.
Free online site with various legal resources, cases and codes, legal news and forms, and more for legal professionals, businesses, students and individuals.
- Legal Information Institute
The Legal Information Institute (LII) is known internationally as a leading "law-not-com" provider of public legal information. It includes opinions of the United States Supreme Court handed down since 1992, together with over 600 earlier decisions selected for their historical importance, over a decade of opinions of the New York Court of Appeals, and the full United States Code. They also gather, state by state, Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and regulations for the fifty states, plus D.C., and the U.S. territories and affiliated jurisdictions.
- National Federation of Paralegal Associations
The National Federation of Paralegal Associations, Inc., promotes a global presence for the paralegal profession and leadership in the legal community.
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.