A guide to research in Plant Biology.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2014
- AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
AGRICOLA contains citations to journal articles, extension documents, government reports, books, theses, audiovisual materials, and patents back to 1970. It is a service of the U.S. National Agricultural Library.
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)
Contains citations to information about life sciences and biomedicine from 1968-present. In addition to topic searching, you may search by taxa, role of organism, methods, equipment, chemicals, etc. Morris Library also has the older print volumes.
- CAB Abstracts (EBSCO)
CAB Abstracts contains citations to journal articles, monographs, books, conference proceedings, etc., in all agricultural fields as well as forestry and life sciences. It includes coverage from 1990 to present.
JSTOR contains fulltext articles from *older* plant biology, aquatic sciences, biology, ecology, and environmental sciences journals. Dates of coverage vary.
- Web of Science
This collection of databases includes Web of Science, which may be used to search for cited references as well as topics. It also includes Biological Abstracts, Zoological Record, MEDLINE, Inspec, and a citation manager (EndNote Web) as well as Journal Citation Reports. Dates of coverage vary.
- 2014 Nucleic Acids Research Database Issue and Molecular Biology Database Collection
- Academic Search Complete
General database with *some* full text. Dates of coverage vary.
- Annual Reviews
The Annual Reviews site contains full-text access to many yearly life sciences reviews, including: Plant Biology; Phytopathology; Ecology, Evolution & Systematics; Genetics; and Marine Science. Dates of coverage vary.
- Arabidopsis Information Resource, The (TAIR)
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library
From the site: "The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
BioOne contains full text bioscience research journals.
Search the full-text digital botanical archive collection of the Missouri Botanical Garden.
- Entrez - NCBI Global Cross-database Search
NCBI's genetics and molecular biology cross-database search page. Includes access to GenBank, BLAST, Protein, EST, SNP, and many more tools.
- Environment Index
Covers environmental policy and studies. Some coverage goes back to the 1940s.
- Google Scholar
General search engine that includes citations to journal articles and freely available full text items. Dates of coverage vary.
- Oceanic Abstracts
This database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Coverage: 1981-present.
- Parasitic Plant Connection
Contains links to descriptions, lists of genera, photographs, bibliographic references and DNA sequence information (description from site)." Created and maintained by Professor Dan Nickrent, SIUC Department of Plant Biology.
- Plant Management Network
From the publisher:"Plant Management Network (PMN) is a not-for-profit, online publishing effort whose mission is to enhance the health, management, and production of agricultural and horticultural crops." It includes four peer-reviewed journals (Applied Turfgrass Science, Crop Management, Forage and Grazing Lands, & Plant Health Progress), and other resources, including "Plant Disease Management Reports," an image database, sections on specific crops, etc.
- PLANTS Database (National Resources Conservation Service, USDA)
From the site: "The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories." Includes a database of wetland plants
- SciFinder (Web version login)
SciFinder Scholar focuses on chemistry and biochemistry but also includes information about plant biology, molecular biology, and genetics. Go to this page
for registration information. Coverage: mostly 1907-present.
TOXNET is a group of databases with citations to articles about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, pesticides, and plants from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It includes links to the ALTBIB (animal testing alternatives) and Enviro-Health databases.
- Turfgrass Information File
The Turfgrass Information File contains citations to articles and educational materials. It is a service of the Turfgrass Information Center of Michigan State University Libraries. Dates of coverage vary.
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology