Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Morris Library's psychology books are in several different areas of the library. Some of the psychology books are located in the psychology section on the 5th floor of the library with call numbers starting with BF, but there also are social psychology books located in the social sciences section with call numbers starting with HM or HQ. The library also has neuroscience and clinical psychology books located with medical books with call numbers RC321 to RC571.
Search one of the catalogs listed here to see what books Morris Library owns or can have delivered from other libraries.
PsycINFO provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in psychology and related subjects. PsycINFO contains more than 3.5 million records, including citations from almost 2500 journals as well as book chapters and dissertations.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX is useful for many areas of psychology, especially social psychology. SocINDEX is a major sociology database with more than 2.1 million records covering thousands of journals as well as books and conference papers.
MEDLINE can be used to search for journal articles from over 19 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including psychiatry.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier searches both popular magazines and academic journals in nearly every academic subject. It includes full text of many, but not all, of the articles.
- Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles. Use the Find it Morris link to find the article in Morris Library's databases.
- Cochrane Library
A resource for evidence-based medicine, including mental health, the Cochrane Library includes systematic reviews combining the results of medical research studies.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete indexes and provides abstracts of articles journals in communication and mass media and includes full text articles for many of the journals.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The DOAJ provides access to a comprehensive collection of open-access scholarly journals that have been vetted with a quality control system to guarantee the content.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
Search the scholarly literature in education. It contains article citations for over 1,000 journals and provides links to full-text ERIC documents back to 1966.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition has full text for over 500 scholarly journals in health and nursing, including mental health. It includes abstracts and indexing for over 800 journals.
- ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
"ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."
JSTOR has complete online copies of older issues of many key journals across many subject areas, especially the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR does NOT include recent issues of most journals.
Offers interactive practice exams for the GRE,GMAT, LSAT, MCAT and other exams. It includes an optional timed environment and the ability to stop in the middle of a test and return to it later. Results include explanations of correct answers.
- LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBT Life with Full Text includes citations and abstracts for articles and books on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues. For over 50 of the magazines and journals, it also includes the full text of the articles.
- Project Muse
Project Muse contains citations for high-quality, scholarly books and journals in all fields, including psychology and psychiatry.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains articles from over 100 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
- PsycCritiques (EBSCOhost)
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycCRITIQUES has full text book reviews of scholarly and professional books in psychology as well as critiques of popular films and trade books from a psychological perspective.
- Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (PILOTS)
Search for journal articles on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, coverage dates to 1871.
A free resource from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed can be used to search for journal articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences, including biochemistry.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. SSCI covers 3,000 journals spanning 60 disciplines with a coverage starting in 1956.
- Web of Science
A multidisciplinary citation index (previously Web of Knowledge).
- Web of Science Core Collection (Citation indexes)
Multidisciplinary database that makes connections between publications, the works that they cite, and the works that cite them.
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Provides information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, tests, etc.) in the health and psychosocial sciences. Uses EBSCOhost.
- 21st Century Psychology: a Reference Handbook
"Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates in the field of psychology."
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference reference books in a variety of subject. It includes several dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks in psychology.
- Encyclopedia of Behavioral Neuroscience
A 3-volume e-reference work examining "the behavior of animals and humans and the neurobiological and physiological processes that control it"--publisher's website.
- Encyclopedia of Human Development
This three-volume Encyclopedia covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more.
- Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Presents a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources.
- Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development
Provides a comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology.
- Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
The electronic version of a three-volume print encyclopedia, the Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics gives accessible overviews of over 500 topics in measurement and statistics.
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
This encyclopedia presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States. It covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience.
- Encyclopedia of psychological assessment
Contains almost 250 entries covering the entire field of psychological assessment. "Each entry includes a general conceptual and methodological overview, [and] a section on relevant assessment devices."
- Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law
A 2-volume encyclopedia that addresses the interface of psychology and law and draws from the related discipline of criminal justice.
- Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Contains numerous entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts in social psychology. Entries provide brief, clear explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology.
- Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories
Surveys the entire range of thinking in psychology from ancient times to the present, encompassing philosophies and theories of mind that pre-date our modern conception of psychology as a science, and extending to the current findings of neuroscience.