A guide to research in Zoology.
Southern Illinois University
(618) 453-5492Send Email
, Animal Science
, Human Food and Nutrition
, Hospitality and Tourism
, and Agricultural Systems
, Plant Biology
For in-depth arguments (often) not yet published, try these databases of dissertations and theses.
- Zoological Record (1945-present) - Web of Science
Contains citations to articles about animals published in "journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings" from 1978 to present. Morris Library has the print version of this index back to volume 1.
- Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)
Biological Abstracts contains citations to articles about the life sciences and biomedical research published in more than 4,000 journals internationally. Online coverage: 1990-present. Morris Library also has the older print volumes of this index.
- Web of Science
This collection of databases includes Science Citation Index, Zoological Record, Biological Abstracts, and MEDLINE. It also includes a citation manager (EndNote Web) as well as Journal Citation Reports.
JSTOR contains fulltext articles from *older* zoology, aquatic sciences, biology, ecology, and environmental sciences journals. Dates of coverage vary.
- Academic Search Complete
General database with *some* full text. Dates of coverage vary.
- ACTor (Aggregated Computational Toxicology Resource)--U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
From the site: "ACToR is EPA's online warehouse of all publicly available chemical toxicity data and can be used to find all publicly available data about potential chemical risks to human health and the environment. ACToR aggregates data from over 500 public sources on over 500,000 environmental chemicals searchable by chemical name, other identifiers and by chemical structure."
- AgNIC: Agriculture Network Information Center
This database includes information about wildlife management. According to the site, it has "reliable, freely-available, evaluated, digital content and quality services for agriculture, food, and natural resources information." It is a service of the National Agricultural Library and North American academic libraries.
AGRICOLA (U.S. National Agricultural Library) focuses on agriculture, but contains information about domestic animal-wildlife interactions and the U.S. national parks. Citations to articles, books, government reports etc. are from 1970 to present.
- ALTBIB - Bibliography on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing
Coverage: 1980-2000. To find recent items, use the PubMed database
with this search term: "Animal Use Alternatives"[mesh].
- Annual Reviews
The Annual Reviews site contains full-text access to many life sciences reviews, including Cell and Developmental Biology, Entomology, and Marine Science. Dates of coverage vary.
BioOne contains full text bioscience research journals.
- CAB Abstracts (1990-present)
CAB focuses on agricultural topics including animal science, but includes information about biology as well. Coverage: 1990 to present.
- Entrez - NCBI Global Cross-database Search
NCBI's genetics and molecular biology cross-database search page. Includes access to GenBank, BLAST, OMIA, Protein, EST, SNP, and many more tools.
- Google Scholar
This general search engine that includes citations to journal articles and freely available full-text items. Dates of coverage vary.
- Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center (NPWRC) Publications
From the website: "Since 1965, the staff of the Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center have authored more than 1,500 publications appearing in peer-reviewed science journals, USGS/NBS/FWS series publications, chapters in books, fact sheets, and other documents. Many of these publications, especially those published in recent years, are also available as HTML or PDF* documents and are accessible through this database. Reprints of many of these articles are available free of charge."
- Oceanic Abstracts
This database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Coverage: 1981-present.
- OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals
From the site: "Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals (OMIA) is a database of genes, inherited disorders and traits in animal species (other than human and mouse) authored by Professor Frank Nicholas" and others.
Search for journal articles from over 18 million article citations in the fields of medicine and the life sciences.
- Red List of Threatened Species (IUCN)
Searchable database of species ranked from "Least Concern" to "Extinct." Brief overviews (assessment of status, geographic range, population, habitat and ecology) and resources including "Categories and Criteria" and "Classification Schemes" are available. For further information about the Red List, including its history, go to The IUCN Red List
- SciFinder (Web version login)
SciFinder Scholar includes information about biochemistry, chemistry, plant biology, and genetics. Go to this page
to register for access.
TOXNET is a group of databases with citations to articles about toxicology, hazardous chemicals and their effects on animals and humans, etc., from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Dates of coverage vary.
Search books, journals, government documents, videos, DVDs, music CDs, and music scores.
Search I-Share @ Morris Library
Request items from around the world through Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loan
If there's a book not in I-Share, we'll find it. If there's an article that says "We don't have this online," we will get it for you. Just sign up for an Interlibrary Loan account (click First-Time User). Request articles through "Request a Photocopy".
Worldwide catalog of library resources. See if it's in I-Share, SIU, or locate items to request via ILL.