Research Guides: Black Resource Center: Resources @ Morris Library

Try These Books

Try these books found using the Library of Congress' subject headings:

Resources for the Study of African American History in Southern Illinois
This guide identifies manuscript collections, university records and rare books related to African American history and culture in Southern Illinois. The collections include correspondence, diaries, manuscripts, organizational and business records, scrapbooks, research materials, photographs and films, and ephemera, as well as rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, and other printed matter.

African American Poetry
"Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It provides a comprehensive survey of the early history of African American poetry, from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar, the first African American poet to achieve national success and recognition."
Black Studies Center
Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. Combines Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender.

Daily Egyptian Diversity News Archive, SIUC
Decades before other public universities gave special attention to minorities, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale already had a tradition of access. From the beginning, we opened our doors to all students, no matter what race or ethnic origin. That tradition continues through our scores of programs for recruiting and retaining minority students, our high percent of minority enrollment, and our selection of minority faculty and staff members for important administrative positions. The purpose of this project is to document SIUC's historical commitment to diversity- particularly ethnic and racial diversity.

Ethnic Diversity Source
"A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989."