Research Guides: AI: Tools

Chatbots & Text Generators

Bing
MicroSoft's AI-powered search and chat.
ChatGPT
Ubiquitous text generation AI.
Claude
Chat-style AI with better reasoning, coding, and writing training than other popular models, according to reviewers. A free account limits uses and features but is enough to explore the tool.
Gemini
Google's text-generation AI.
Meta Llama
Meta, owner of Facebook and Instagram, makes its Llama LLM available as an open source tool. Download the model to interact.The same model underlies the Meta AI chat assistant on Facebook.
Poe
Chat with multiple bots and LLMs through a single interface.

Writing Assistants

Grammarly
Cross-platform writing assistant helps with spelling, grammar, and word choice. Includes a generative tool as well.
Jenni
Writing assistant that can suggest potential citations. Includes standard grammar- and spell-checks and an AI text generator. Free accounts strictly limit text generation.
QuillBot
Grammar checker with paraphrasing, summarizing, and translation capabilities.

Research Assistance

AllSides
Gathers news articles from over 1,400 sources and uses language analysis to sort them by political bias. Similar to Ground News, but the full feature set is free.
Census GPT
Ask natural language questions of U.S. census data. Not all census data is available yet, but a large and useful variety is.
Connected Papers
Creates a visualization of academic papers connected by citations or topic. Great for providing an overview of an unfamiliar topic or starting a literature review.
Consensus
AI-powered search which claims to draw its answers from "research papers" only.
Inciteful
Free online tool performs network analysis of a sizable database of academic papers to connect a single known paper to the papers that cite it or that it cites or connect any two papers through chains of citations. Once you have found papers of interest, use our library databases to get the full text.
Litmaps
Generate, explore, and refine networks of related papers from a known item or topic. Based on Semantic Scholar and requires a free account.
ResearchRabbit
Receive research alerts, visualize networks of citations, collect and share papers with colleagues.
Semantic Scholar
Free, AI-powered search of over 200 million scientific research papers.

Text Analysis

Chat with Any PDF
Answers questions and provides summaries based on a PDF uploaded by the user.
Explainpaper
"Upload a paper, highlight confusing text, get an explanation."
Kaya.
Web-based "personal AI" which can be trained on your notes, content, and other data.
Otio
AI-powered text analysis summarizes user-provided texts or videos and allows users to "chat" with the documents, asking questions and interacting with the content. A free account allows five interactions per day.
Perplexity
AI-powered tool turns natural language questions and prompts into summaries with links to the sources of its information. The generated text must be fact-checked for accuracy as errors occur in summaries, even with the source links included.
Transkribus
AI-powered tool that transcribes scanned or photographed handwritten documents. Pre-trained models handle multiple languages and penmanship from historical eras. Models can be further trained on specific handwriting for more accurate transcripts. A free account allows a limited amount of processing per month.
YouTube Summary with ChatGPT & Claude
Free browser extension for Chrome and Safari generates summaries of YouTube videos.

Learning & Assessment

MathGPT
Upload pictures of math, physics, or accounting problems to this AI-powered tools and receive not just a solution, but explanations of the steps necessary to reach the answer.
Reading Coach
AI-powered web application for personalized, targeted reading practice for students. Generates story text based on prompts input by students and/or teachers.
Redmenta
Free assessment generator.
TeacherServer
Suite of AI-powered tools developed for teachers at all levels by faculty at the University of South Florida. An account is free. Worth noting, the tools do not save or share inputs, not even to further train the AIs.
Teach Anything
Generates leveled text based on a question prompt.

Specialized Generators & Chatbots

AppGen
Generates functional AI-powered app based on user input. Free accounts have limited features, but should be useful for student projects and other learners.
BookAI
Ask questions about and get summaries of books after entering the author and title.
Butternut AI
Generates websites based on text prompts. Does not include free hosting.
Character.ai
Train a custom "character" AI and then converse with it
Chat Journal
Beta. Generates questions to support journaling and learns from previous entries.
Elaborate
Beta. Generates slides from text or outlines. Free during beta period.
Fontjoy
Generate font pairings. Useful for print and online design.
Gamma
Generates slide decks based on the text entered and other content embedded.
Khroma
"[U]ses AI to learn which colors you like and creates limitless palettes for you to discover, search, and save."
The Living Museum
Use AI to assemble custom collections of items from the British Museum's digital collection and "chat" with individual artifacts to learn more about them.
Replika
Create an AI "friend" with which you can converse.
SlidesAI
Generate slide decks from text content. Free accounts are limited to 3 presentations a month.
Slidesgo
Generate slide decks from topic, tone, and style information.
SlidesGPT
Generate slides from a prompt.
Story AI
Brainstorming tool which asks uses to fill in information on genre, characters, setting, and themes to generate story ideas.
Your Personal Job Interview Coach
AI-powered chatbot with provides typical job interview questions in a number of (mostly) tech-related fields and offers immediate feedback on typed responses.

Data Anonimizers

ARX Data Anonymization Tool
"[C]omprehensive open source software for anonymizing sensitive personal data. It supports a wide variety of (1) privacy and risk models, (2) methods for transforming data and (3) methods for analyzing the usefulness of output data."
CliniDeID
"[A]utomatically de-identifies clinical notes and structured data according to the HIPAA Safe Harbor method. It accurately finds identifiers and tags or replaces them with realistic surrogates for better anonymity."
NLM Scrubber
"[F]reely available clinical text deidentification tool designed and developed at the National Library of Medicine."
Philter
"[C]ommand-line based clinical text de-identification software that removes protected health information (PHI) from any plain text file."

Image Generators

Canva AI Image Generator
Generate an image from a text prompt.
Craiyon
Background remover and image generator. Free images are watermarked.
DALL-E 2
Generate images from a text prompt. From OpenAI, makers of ChatGPT.
Firefly
Generates new images or edits existing images based on user input.
NightCafe
Free art generator with a large and active community of users participating in contests and discussions.
Scribble Diffusion
Generates an image from a text prompt and simple sketch.

Music Generators

Soundraw
Generate music in a variety of genres.
Udio
Generate music from a text prompt in nearly any style or language.

Video Generators

WowTo
Generates how-to videos and knowledge bases. Videos from free accounts are watermarked.

AI Detection

Inclusion here does not constitute an endorsement. The author of this page does not endorse any product or service claiming to detect AI-generated content.

Software that claims to detect content generated by AI has a number of known issues. Most prominent among these is a tendency to falsely identify writing by non-native English speakers or people with autism as AI-generated. Some AI detectors flag a work as "AI-generated" when a student uses grammar checkers and word suggestion features built into their writing or translation software. Because of these and other concerns, an indication from AI detection software—and especially not a single indication—should not be the only evidence considered before opening an investigation into academic honesty.

Copyleaks
AI-generated text and plagiarism detection software provided through the Center for Teaching Excellence.
Copyleaks Training
Recording of online training session covering the basics of using Copyleaks with D2L, how the system works, and how to interpret reports.
AI Detection, Texas Tech University
Thorough list of available services claiming to detect AI-generated content, along with a selection of research papers on the topic of AI detection.

Morris Library

AI: Tools